Sunday, January 31, 2016

Gluten-Free & Dairy-Free Favorite Products: January 2016


As Januarys go, 2016's was definitely an unforgettable one. I began the month in Orlando, soaking up the sun and my last taste of the city for awhile. Midway through the month, I returned North to Baltimore where I promptly met Jonas, the record breaking nor'easter that dumped 30 inches of snow in record-setting blizzard fashion. I am definitely happy to be back to my usual routine on campus, and cannot wait to see what adventures I get into during the spring semester. 
Tuesday, January 26, 2016

Tamale Co. Food Truck Review

When it comes to my favorite things in Orlando, the good folks over at the Tamale Co. Food Truck rank really high on my list. With a 100% gluten-free menu and the best tamales in all the land, there's plenty to love about Tamale Co. and their team.

I first discovered the truck at a food truck round up in June of 2014. Ever since, I have been a frequent customer whenever I make it back to Orlando, often finding them at local Farmers' Markets and food truck assemblies. After years as a loyal fan, I figured it was about time to give Tamale Co. a dedicated post all their own. 
Saturday, January 16, 2016

Cookes of Dublin Review (Downtown Disney/Disney Springs)

While I am definitely not a "Disney person" I must admit that I am a fan of Downtown Disney- ahem, Disney Springs (we are now supposed to call it). Ever since I was a kid visiting on vacation I have always loved walking around the bustling marketplace with plenty of fun shops, scenery and many culinary options. There's always something new to see, and with free parking and no admissions free it's an affordable attraction for locals and tourists alike.

In previous visits to Downtown Disney, I have enjoyed both brunch and dinner at Raglan Road, an Irish pub that has one of the most impressive gluten-free menus and well-trained staff I have encountered. 

Neighboring the restaurant is Cookes of Dublin, a quick-service location that features some of the same specialties served up at Raglan Road, made in the same kitchen. With outdoor seating Cookes of Dublin is a good choice if you want a casual, low-key, and lower priced experience, or if the main restaurant is filled to capacity. With so few "fast food" restaurants that have gluten-free and dairy-free options on hand, I loved the novel experience of getting to order safe fare quick-service style.
Thursday, January 14, 2016

Bonefish Grill Review

When I first started out on a gluten-free diet, I would have never guessed that one day I would be able to eat at chain restaurants with my new dietary restrictions. 

One by one, chain restaurants have introduced and updated their gluten-free offerings, and have proven that they can serve up gluten-free fare right alongside more gluten-laden offerings. What's really nice about chains is that they provide consistency across city and state lines, making travel easy and worry-free. In my last week in Orlando, my dad, sister and I decided to dine at Bonefish Grill to take advantage of weekday specials and check out the gluten-free menu. While I have long known that Bonefish has gluten-free offerings, it was time to see for myself what exactly they were.
Tuesday, January 12, 2016

Bonefish Grill Gluten-Free Menu

I have known for a while that Bonefish Grill is one of the chain restaurants that is fairly reliable when it comes to gluten-free offerings. With an extensive menu featuring dishes from the land and sea, Bonefish has plenty to please every member of your family and dining party. 

This post contains Bonefish Grill's current gluten-free dinner and brunch offerings, but does not list other allergens.

To read my full Bonefish Grill review, click here.
Sunday, January 10, 2016

Antojitos Authentic Mexican Food Review

A day at any theme park requires endless walking and waiting (for rides), which inevitably builds quite an appetite. With my Universal annual pass in its final day of validity, I wanted to return to the park for a tour of all of my favorite attractions and get one more Universal restaurant review in before I head back to Baltimore for an extended stretch. 

While there were a few in-park restaurants I was considering, I decided to visit Antojitos Authentic Mexican Food because it had an array of gluten-free options and also had plenty of options my sister and dad would enjoy as well. 

Antojitos, located in Universal's CityWalk is open to the public, meaning that you don't need a park ticket to dine here (you only have to pay for parking). Rising high above the surrounding venues and decorated in vivid hues, Antojitos is hard to miss. With a menu featuring gluten-free friendly tacos, fajitas, and enchiladas, I settled in for a foodie fiesta.
Saturday, January 9, 2016

Gluten Free Options at Amway Center (Orlando, FL)

Opened in 2010, the Amway is one of Orlando's newest additions to the cityscape. Home to Orlando's pro hockey and basketball teams as well as center stage for various concerts that pass through the city, there's hardly ever a night where the Amway is not buzzing with activity.

During my winter holiday break, I couldn't wait to go to the Amway for the first time in years to attend an Orlando Magic game. Not knowing what, if any, gluten-free options were in store, I decided to dine ahead of time, but did some investigating in between cheering on the home team. 
Friday, January 8, 2016

Hot Krust Panini Kitchen Review

I return back to Baltimore next week, so I am now focused on making the most of my limited time left in Orlando. For some inspiration, I decided to turn to my to-try list of restaurants I have always wanted to visit but for one reason or another had not done so until now.

Topping that list was Hot Krust Panini Kitchen, a restaurant I have wanted to try for years now, and is conveniently located right next door to Orlando's largest Whole Foods Market on Sand Lake Road. 

With positive reviews and frequent mentions in gluten-free circles, I had pretty high expectations for Hot Krust. Could a restaurant that builds its menu around gluten and dairy really serve up safe allergen-friendly food? 
Thursday, January 7, 2016

BB Junction Review (Closed)

As of Sept. 13, 2016 BB Junction has closed.

While back in Orlando over the winter holidays, my family decided to check out an Orlando Magic home game while I was in town. We all used to follow the team closely back when they made a couple runs in the Playoffs, but my interest in them has died out as the team has floundered and I have lived out of state.

Knowing that allergy-friendly options at the Amway Arena were slim to none, I suggested that we eat at BB Junction, a farm-to-table burger restaurant that has been on my "to-try" list for awhile now. With a menu focused on customization and a good gluten-free review from Edible Orlando Magazine (click here), I knew the cozy Winter Park spot would be a good pre-game choice to please every member of my family. 

Tuesday, January 5, 2016

Scat Cat's Lounge at Disney's Port Orleans French Quarter Resort (Temporary Pop Up)

While I am not a big Disney person, there's no denying that Orlando's most famous resident is Mickey Mouse himself. In the limited time I have in Orlando for my winter break, I knew I did not want to miss an opportunity to eat out with my local gluten-free blogger friends Alexis from Gluten Free in Orlando and Sarah from Gluten Free and Dairy Free at Walt Disney World. We tend to choose restaurants on property of Disney World, and for our December meet up we decided to try out Scat Cat's Lounge, a temporary holiday pop up restaurant at Disney's Port Orleans Resort- French Quarter. Because of the limited engagement nature of the restaurant, this review covers my experience, but the restaurant is no longer in operation. However, look out for future openings of the Lounge on a seasonal basis.