Saturday, April 21, 2018

The Little Beet Review (Breakfast)

Whenever I travel I usually have luck finding gluten-free options for lunch and dinner but breakfast is more hit-and-miss. Hotel breakfast bars can be limited on options and many gluten-free friendly restaurants are simply not open for the first meal of the day. In these instances, I typically I turn to fruit and a protein bar for substance while on the go. 

However, while on a work trip to New York City last week I made a point of rising and shining earlier than I needed to so I could walk over to The Little Beet for a proper breakfast. I am already familiar with The Little Beet from their DC location, but their breakfast service was new to me, as my previous reviews covered lunch or dinner. Getting a full breakfast is a luxurious experience while traveling, and I had hopes this meal would set the tone for a full day of meetings ahead.
Monday, April 9, 2018

Schnipper's Review

When booking a matinee and evening Broadway show on the same day, I knew I needed to find someplace close to grab gluten-free fare in between shows. After considering all the nearby options using Find Me Gluten-Free's location feature, I decided to go to Schnipper's at 41st Street and 8th Avenue- just a few blocks from the heart of Times Square. 

I chose Schnipper's not only because they received glowing reviews on the app, but at first glance were the most affordable option available within a radius of several blocks. Not only that, but their gluten-free offerings feature rarities that are off limits for gluten-free diners: fish and chips, chicken fingers, and burgers. 
Sunday, April 8, 2018

The Counter Review

Knowing that my weekend trip to New York was going to be short and sweet, I made sure to squeeze as much sightseeing as I could into my visit- food-centered and otherwise. Knowing that I had tickets for a matinee and evening Broadway show on Saturday, I decided to spend my morning near Times Square exploring the magnificent New York Public Library in Bryant Park. 

For my lunch destination between the library and the theater, I chose The Counter, a gourmet burger bar that promises custom-built burgers that let you pick and choose toppings, sauces, and proteins to your heart's content. In choosing The Counter, I knew I was getting fast food- but fast food that wouldn't cut corners when it came to quality. 
Thursday, April 5, 2018

Hu Kitchen Review

When it comes to travel, I am not a huge sightseer. I don't pack my days with tours and places to be but instead focus on a few places of interest and see where the journey takes me. After arriving by train to New York City in the early afternoon, I decidedly made a bee line towards Hu Kitchen, which on this trip was definitely a destination that was topping my list of places to go. 

Hu Kitchen has the set up and feel of a grade school cafeteria, but one that is transformed fairy godmother style into the cafeteria of your dreams. Everything served is gluten-free, and most everything is dairy-free and grain-free, with a few rare exceptions. While this is a fantastic concept for anyone who's gluten-free or who is in a group who can't decide where to eat, it's also a huge conundrum. After all, how do you possibly choose what to eat when each item looks better than the next?! 
Saturday, March 31, 2018

Inday Go Go Review

The second I booked my weekend trip to New York City, I immediately began craving Inday. The 100% gluten-free Indian restaurant impressed me on previous visits, and was a reliable place to grab healthy, real food (check out my review). 

I was all set on going back to Inday's Nomad location for another visit when I saw on Instagram they had recently opened up a pop up at Urbanspace 570 Lex, a vibrant food hall near the Midtown East neighborhood. Promising gluten-free roti and a lineup of fun and flavorful eats, I knew I had to check them out. 

As a fan of food halls, Indian food, and Inday, my experience was almost custom-designed to make me happy. Without giving too much away, I can totally confirm Inday Go Go not only delivered but proved to be one of the best dining experiences I have had in awhile. 
Tuesday, March 13, 2018

Merzi Fresh Indian Kitchen Review

Ever walk by a restaurant that looks interesting but dismiss it out of hand because you assume they don't have gluten-free options? I did. Working in the Penn Quarter neighborhood, the brightly colored storefront of Merzi Fresh Indian Kitchen caught my eye every time I came and went from work. 

With no menu markings, I assumed (incorrectly as I discovered) that nothing was safe. However, when looking for a place to grab dinner with my mom in town, I decided to reach out to Merzi over Twitter to see for sure whether there was anything there for me. Sure enough, a friendly staff member assured me that they had a wide selection of gluten and dairy-free menu items. I needed no further convincing to check them out that night.
Friday, March 2, 2018

Chef Soraya Eat-a-Bowl Review

Since graduating college last December, I have moved into a new apartment, started a new job, and adjusted to a new pace in my life. The greatest thing about my post-grad life? I finally have a kitchen I can call my own, and time to play around in the kitchen with new recipes. Good-bye forever dorm kitchen!! 

As much as I have enjoyed cooking up curries, soups, and other meals, it is taxing to try to keep up the creativity and clean up the mess involved with preparing several meals a day- especially during the work week. That's why when I spotted the Chef Soraya Eat-a-Bowl quick-cook soups at Fairfield, Ohio's Jungle Jim's International Market, I knew I wanted to see if they could deliver on their promise: healthy, delicious food that cooks in mere minutes. 

While the convenience factor certainly caught my eye, it was the real ingredients and tantalizing flavors that convinced me to give this new-to-me brand a try.
Sunday, February 25, 2018

Cooper's Hawk Restaurant and Winery Review

Cooper's Hawk Restaurant is a chain that I have heard quite a buzz about in the gluten-free world. I've read other bloggers' glowing reviews and have seen positive reports on Find Me Gluten Free, a website and app I use religiously. That being said, I approached this dining experience at Cooper's Hawk with dread, because I have eaten there once before (years ago) and it was one of the worst dining experiences I have ever had since going gluten-free. 

However, when visiting my grandparents in Cincinnati last weekend, the restaurant came up as a viable option for dining out because they had a menu that would appeal to everyone in the family and they had a reputation for great gluten-free accommodations. Although I was skeptical, I decided to give them a second chance, to see if my first experience was a outlier.  
Saturday, February 24, 2018

Cooper's Hawk Winery & Restaurant Gluten-Free Menu

While visiting Cincinnati over the President's Day weekend, my grandparents wanted to go out for dinner with my dad and me. After some searching, we decided that Cooper's Hawk Winery and Restaurant in Kenwood would be a good place to go out because they had an expansive gluten-free menu and lots of choices for the gluten, and non-gluten eaters in our party. 

When I arrived our waiter brought out the restaurant's gluten-free menu. I marveled at it's multi-page format and that it listed everything from appetizers to desserts. It made knowing the gluten-free options refreshingly easy. 

On Cooper's Hawk's menu, vegetarian and vegan options are marked, and in my experience our waiter was happy to double check with the chef to verify items were dairy-free. Other gluten-free features of this menu are that gluten-free buns are available for sandwiches and burgers as well as for a gluten-free bread course. On another note, the restaurant uses Barilla gluten-free pasta. 
Sunday, February 11, 2018

&Pizza Review

When it comes to pizza options in Washington D.C., it's hard not to miss &Pizza, the District's homegrown and hip fast-casual pizza chain. Self-described as the "anti-establishment establishment," &Pizza is built around a core value of creativity, and caters each store to reflect the ethos and individuality of their surrounding neighborhood. 

In the same way, &Pizza's creations are as unique as the customer ordering them, because one can choose the sauce, toppings, cheeses, and finishes that speak to them. Flair is the name of the game, and &Pizzas upend the status quo. 

I visited my local &Pizza shop is located in Brookland, located near the Catholic University of America and the Basilica of the National Shrine. It's been a while since I last enjoyed a good gluten-free pizza, so my hopes were high for this visit. 
Saturday, February 10, 2018

Bibibop Asian Grill Review

Although I am by no means a big fan of sports, there's something about the Olympic Games that gets me really excited every two years. This year, the Winter Games are taking place in the South Korean city of PyeongChang. After waking up before the crack of dawn to watch the Opening Ceremony live this past Friday, I decided to forego my usual morning excessive of deciding what to pack and instead opted to find something to eat in the Penn Quarter neighborhood where I work. 

Inspired by the Olympic Games, I decided to try out Bibibop, a Korean restaurant chain with lots of gluten-free options and multiple locations around the District (and in several states). Always intrigued when I can get safe Asian food, I was excited to see what my experience would hold.
Sunday, January 28, 2018

The Red Bandana Bakery Review

If there's one thing the world needs, it's more dedicated gluten-free bakeries. These magical cafes are places where sweet and savory treats are in abundance and fear can be left at the doorstep. 

The latest gluten-free bakery to pop up in the DC region is The Red Bandana Bakery in Bethesda, MD. While not a newcomer by any means (they have been a Bethesda farmer's market staple for years), their brick and mortar location is a newcomer to the city's bustling Wisconsin Ave corridor. 

Although The Red Bandana Bakery opened in November of last year, my college graduation, moving, and starting a new job in D.C. have consumed all of my spare time recently. This past weekend however, I made sure to carve out time to stop by and see what they were all about. I have previously tried and enjoyed their treats at the 2016 D.C. Gluten-Free Education Day and Expo, and was eager to get the full experience of this bakery-cafe in its full glory.
Sunday, January 21, 2018

Jersey Mike's Subs Review

Subs. Hoagies. Heros. Submarine sandwich. 

Whatever you call them, they're really hard to find gluten-free options at sub shops, much less find one that knows how to prepare them safely (shared knives and counters are a cross contamination danger zone!). 

In my six years of going gluten-free, I have never found a place where I could walk in and order a sub and reclaim the normal experience I so enjoyed in my pre-gluten-free days. Of course I have made subs at home on a few occasions, but I have longed for this every time I pass by a sub shop or the deli counter at my local grocery store. 

That's why I was floored when Jersey Mike's Subs, a nationwide chain, announced that they were going gluten-free. I met the news with skepticism, after all, I can point to plenty of examples of chains rolling out gluten-free options that are dangerously cross-contaminated or are considered "gluten-light" for those who follow the diet due to preference rather than medical necessity. Could Jersey Mike's boldly go where no sub chain had gone before? Even more, could they pull off the taste and texture of these iconic sandwiches minus gluten?