Saturday, January 18, 2020

Little Beet Table Review

At last year's Washington DC Gluten-Free Expo, the most exciting piece of news to emerge from the event was that the DC area was getting its first dedicated gluten-free full service restaurant: Little Beet Table. 

A New York City export, Little Beet Table serves up seasonally inspired fare in the rare restaurant environment that is completely free from gluten. Not only can they cater to celiacs and other gluten-intolerant diners, they have plenty of dairy-free options too. 

Although they opened last November, I've been meaning to take the Metro red line journey to the restaurant's Friendship Heights location for some time. With Bethesda Magazine's annual winter Restaurant Week in full swing (January 10-19), I finally firmed up my plans, enticed by the promise of a prix fixe adventure through their menu offerings.

Sunday, January 12, 2020

True Food Kitchen Review

One of the best times of the year for DC-area foodies are local restaurant weeks, where DMV eateries roll out the red carpet and offer prix fixe menus that showcase seasonal flavors for a special price. I always keep a close eye to what's on offer for restaurant weeks in Bethesda and DC, and when I spotted True Food Kitchen's menus, I immediately made reservations. 

I've encountered True Food Kitchen once before, a few years ago in Atlanta and was impressed by the health-conscious and special diet-friendly menu. With this location so close to DC, I'm long overdue for paying it a visit and Bethesda Magazine Restaurant Week was the perfect excuse to finally stop by. 

Saturday, January 4, 2020

Nanee's Kitchen Review

As I mentioned in my last post, the dawning of a new year (and a new decade!) has prompted me to catch up with blog posts and reviews that have fallen to the wayside amidst the many December festivities I was juggling.

As such, I'm happy to have finished this review so I can share one of the gluten-free gems I discovered in Philly last November. Though I've mentioned it in an earlier post, Nanee's Kitchen gets the full top-line billing it deserves in this review as a fantastic find in the bustling Reading Terminal Market. 

As a huge fan of Indian cuisine (because it's so gluten-free friendly), paying a second visit to the food stand was a great opportunity to score some of my favorite food as well as see if it was as good as I remembered it to be on my first visit many years ago. 

Bangkok Joe's Review

I love the period of transition between one year to the next. There's nothing more exciting than looking ahead to all the possibilities that await in the next 365 days and I relish the opportunity to reflect on the year that was and set goals for the coming year. 

As the new year has turned, I can't quite begin with a clean slate yet because I have to wrap up a few reviews and updates from dining out in the past month or so. One such review I'm excited to finally post features Bangkok Joe's, a Georgetown restaurant I had heard incredible things about but only now got around to checking it out. 

While Asian cuisines tend to be friendlier than most to gluten-free diners, Bangkok Joe's menu offers a dazzling array of options including noodles, curries, rice-based dishes, and dumplings that show off the styles and flavors of Japanese, Thai, Chinese, and Vietnamese cooking. Excellent word of mouth accolades on their gluten-free dumplings totally put the restaurant on my radar, but as you'll see, that's only where the gluten-free magic of this restaurant begins.

Saturday, November 16, 2019

Fox & Son Review

It's been three years since I last visited Philadelphia, which is honestly three years too long. Living in DC, it's effortlessly easy to visit cities up and down the northeast via Amtrak, and after passing through Philly's 30th Street Station so often on my way en route to New York City, I figured I was long overdue to alight at the city of brotherly love for a long weekend of exploration. 

While I certainly had non-food points of interest on my itinerary, priority number one once I had my train booked was stopping by the dedicated gluten-free Fox & Son and get my hands on their gloriously golden menagerie of fried foods. If you've been missing corn dogs, loaded fries, fried cheese curds, or funnel cake from your free-from-gluten life, Fox & Son has you covered. Located in the vibrant and bustling Reading Terminal Market, this food stand not only has the gluten-free goods, it's nestled among an epicurean wonderland of produce, prepared foods, and kitchen wares.

Wednesday, November 13, 2019

Modern Bread & Bagel Review

The cruel thing about being gluten-free is not only that forever alters your sense of "normal" for baked goods and other wheat-based products, but it turns every dining experience into a research project, with serious sleuthing skills required before crossing a restaurant or cafe's threshold. Gone are the days where stopping by for a sandwich or sitting down for a dinner can be done on a whim. 

However at one of New York's newest 100% gluten-free eateries, you can find proper baked goods as well as dining options from dawn to dusk and for a brief moment, forget both downsides to being gluten-free. Meet Modern Bread & Bagel and Arba, which should be a priority point of interest for any gluten-free foodie, whether local or from out of town. 

Operating as Modern Bread & Bagel by day and Arba by night, this upper west side eatery already impressed me as I experienced their dinner serve earlier this year (read my review). Now, in this post, I'm turning my sights squarely on their daytime iteration, where I finally got my hands on a half dozen of their signature bagels, which I have been pining for since their opening.

Monday, September 16, 2019

Pablo's Toc O's Food Truck Review

Although I see an abundance of food trucks all over DC, very few are gluten-free friendly. Cooking in such close corners is certainly not conducive to avoiding cross-contact with wheat, barley, and rye, so the only food trucks I trust are ones that are 100% free from gluten. 

While attending the opening festival of the Kennedy Center's new expansion, I was thrilled to discover a new-to-me food truck that fit the bill with a completely gluten-free menu that's also rather vegetarian and vegan-friendly as well. 

Not one to ever pass up a chance to try tacos, I totally threw out my prior plans for dinner in favor of giving that food truck-- Pablo's Toc O's-- a try. After all, the discovery of a dedicated gluten-free food truck is always a "drop everything and try it out" situation! 

Sunday, September 15, 2019

Sweet Crimes Doughnuts Review

One of the greatest things about summer in DC is the abundance of street markets and farmers markets that pop up throughout the city. We're truly spoiled for choice, and every weekend presents a new opportunity to explore each of DC's eight wards.

Although it opened this spring to much fanfare, until now I haven't stopped by one of DC's newest food-centered markets: Smorgasburg. Setting up every Saturday in the Navy Yard's Tingey Plaza, the market promised a true cornucopia of choice, but what lured me to investigate was the promise of gluten-free and vegan doughnuts from the DC-based dedicated gluten-free bakery Sweet Crimes. 

I don't know about you, but the promise of a cone full of hot doughnuts on a cool, fall morning is the perfect motivation to get up and at 'em on a Saturday morning! I didn't need much persuasion to clear my calendar to plan a visit to Smorgasburg, and was looking forward to reuniting with a food that is so rarely both gluten and dairy-free, yet so abundant this time of year. 

Monday, September 2, 2019

Prima Review

This summer, most of my blogging bandwidth has been taken up by playing catch up to recap all the wonderful eats I found in London and Paris this summer. With that adventure in the books and September already upon us (already?), I'm looking forward to getting back to my mission to find the best gluten-free eats in and around Washington, DC.

Topping the list of places I wanted to check out was Prima, a Bethesda-based restaurant that builds on the area's strong fast casual bowl game and adds an Italian twist to concept.  What makes Prima stand out from the pack is that their whole menu is entirely gluten-free. Excited to check out Italian fare that was both safe and easy on the wallet, I finally found an opportunity to venture outside DC city limits to check Prima out. 

Monday, August 26, 2019

Indigo at One Aldwych Review

In exploring around London, I marvel at the sheer variety and abundance of gluten-free options on offer. I don't think I could ever run out of restaurants and cafes to try, and it's truly the most gluten-free friendly city I've visited in all my travels.

On my last night on holiday, I made reservations at Indigo at One Aldwych, a completely gluten and dairy-free restaurant that serves up fare inspired by the cuisines of the British Isles. As my last night in the city, I decided to dine at Indigo because it meant I wouldn't have to worry about getting on a plane the next day with an upset stomach due to potential cross contact. In reviewing their menu, I was excited to see many classic British dishes, which cemented this as a perfect pick for the last night of my holiday.