Monday, September 16, 2019

Pablo's Toc O's Food Truck Review

Although I see an abundance of food trucks all over DC, very few are gluten-free friendly. Cooking in such close corners is certainly not conducive to avoiding cross-contact with wheat, barley, and rye, so the only food trucks I trust are ones that are 100% free from gluten. 

While attending the opening festival of the Kennedy Center's new expansion, I was thrilled to discover a new-to-me food truck that fit the bill with a completely gluten-free menu that's also rather vegetarian and vegan-friendly as well. 

Not one to ever pass up a chance to try tacos, I totally threw out my prior plans for dinner in favor of giving that food truck-- Pablo's Toc O's-- a try. After all, the discovery of a dedicated gluten-free food truck is always a "drop everything and try it out" situation! 

Sunday, September 15, 2019

Sweet Crimes Doughnuts Review

One of the greatest things about summer in DC is the abundance of street markets and farmers markets that pop up throughout the city. We're truly spoiled for choice, and every weekend presents a new opportunity to explore each of DC's eight wards.

Although it opened this spring to much fanfare, until now I haven't stopped by one of DC's newest food-centered markets: Smorgasburg. Setting up every Saturday in the Navy Yard's Tingey Plaza, the market promised a true cornucopia of choice, but what lured me to investigate was the promise of gluten-free and vegan doughnuts from the DC-based dedicated gluten-free bakery Sweet Crimes. 

I don't know about you, but the promise of a cone full of hot doughnuts on a cool, fall morning is the perfect motivation to get up and at 'em on a Saturday morning! I didn't need much persuasion to clear my calendar to plan a visit to Smorgasburg, and was looking forward to reuniting with a food that is so rarely both gluten and dairy-free, yet so abundant this time of year. 

Monday, September 2, 2019

Prima Review

This summer, most of my blogging bandwidth has been taken up by playing catch up to recap all the wonderful eats I found in London and Paris this summer. With that adventure in the books and September already upon us (already?), I'm looking forward to getting back to my mission to find the best gluten-free eats in and around Washington, DC.

Topping the list of places I wanted to check out was Prima, a Bethesda-based restaurant that builds on the area's strong fast casual bowl game and adds an Italian twist to concept.  What makes Prima stand out from the pack is that their whole menu is entirely gluten-free. Excited to check out Italian fare that was both safe and easy on the wallet, I finally found an opportunity to venture outside DC city limits to check Prima out. 

Monday, August 26, 2019

Indigo at One Aldwych Review

In exploring around London, I marvel at the sheer variety and abundance of gluten-free options on offer. I don't think I could ever run out of restaurants and cafes to try, and it's truly the most gluten-free friendly city I've visited in all my travels.

On my last night on holiday, I made reservations at Indigo at One Aldwych, a completely gluten and dairy-free restaurant that serves up fare inspired by the cuisines of the British Isles. As my last night in the city, I decided to dine at Indigo because it meant I wouldn't have to worry about getting on a plane the next day with an upset stomach due to potential cross contact. In reviewing their menu, I was excited to see many classic British dishes, which cemented this as a perfect pick for the last night of my holiday. 

Sunday, August 25, 2019

Yorica Review

I scream, you scream, we all scream for ice cream! 

Especially during a summer heatwave, there's no better way to cool off than with ice cream or a milkshake. Unfortunately, the fact that it is traditionally dairy-based and chock full of other allergens means that too often those of us with dietary restrictions are left out from enjoying this simple treat.

Luckily, there's a little shop in London that is a game changer for anyone looking for free-from frozen treats: Yorica!

Located on a bustling street in Soho, stepping through the front doors of Yorica feel like going through a magic portal where suddenly everything you see is safe to eat. Not only is the shop dedicated gluten-free and vegan, everything they serve is free from the top 14 major allergens and is accredited by Allergy UK (more on that in a moment). 

It's almost a bit disconcerting, but the real challenge in visiting Yorica is narrowing down what to order because the shop has a deliciously tempting menu of frozen treats, waffles, and crepes. With my eyes saucer-wide and my stomach leading my decision making, I almost couldn't contain my excitement even before I ate a single bite.

Saturday, August 24, 2019

Honest Burgers Review

If I'm being honest (pun intended), my standards for dining out at a burger restaurant are pretty high. Not only do I look for gluten-free and allergen-awareness, my decision to dine out at such a restaurant is contingent on two important factors: do they have gluten-free buns (as assessed from others' reviews) and do they have a dedicated fryer?

After all, what fun is it to go out and eat burgers when all you can eat is a meat patty and assorted vegetables with no bun or fries (well, chips in this case)? 

Meeting both standards, the London-based chain Honest Burgers definitely made my list of restaurants to visit, and luckily enough, my hotel was a short walk from their location on Tottenham Court Road in Bloomsbury. 

Spurred by the combination of a jam-packed morning and sudden craving for hearty comfort food, I knew it was the perfect time to pay the restaurant a visit and see just how much the experience lived up to the hype. 

Borough 22 Gluten-Free Vegan Donuts Review

As I was researching gluten and dairy-free eats to make a list of not-to-be-missed places in London, the majority of my leads came from Instagram, where over the course of planning two holidays I've followed quite a few London and UK-based bloggers and companies. 

One such small business is Borough 22, whose eye-catching array of gluten-free and vegan doughnuts had me dreaming of them from across the pond. I definitely made sourcing out these all all too rare to find sweets a priority of my visit, and easily sourced them through the massive food hall at the historic Selfridges on Oxford Street.

Not only are Borough 22's doughnuts gluten and dairy-free, but they also cater to those with multiple allergies, as they also omit egg (being vegan), soy, and nuts (though they are made in a shared space). With an exciting selection to choose from and the eager anticipation of having my first doughnut for as long as I can remember, I was glad to have purchased a trio for breakfast in bed in my hotel over my last couple days in the city.

Wednesday, August 14, 2019

Gluten-Free on Eurostar (2019)

One of the most amazing things about visiting London is that not only is the city jam-packed with extraordinary things to do, see, and eat, but it's a day tripper's dream, with so many cool towns and cities only a few hours away by road or rail. 

Inspired by binge watching the Anglo-French television drama The Tunnel and buoyed by a couple years of high school French (aided by Duolingo), I decided to go on a day trip to Paris for a whirlwind visit to the city of light. I booked my journey on the Eurostar, which delivers you from London's St. Pancras station to Paris' Gare du Nord in a little over two hours, with lovely pastoral scenery in between (as well as the Chunnel). 

As a semi-frequent Amtrak user here in the States, I know to always pack food because the on-board dining options are nonexistent for gluten-free folks. I was pleasantly surprised that in booking my journey, Eurostar not only offered options for those following special diets (in some sections), but those options also included multi-course meals. That's unheard of here, and was curious to see what would be served on board.

Sunday, August 11, 2019

The Good Life Eatery Review

When I decided to book a second holiday to London this year and locked in my end-of-July timeframe, one of the top points on my itinerary was a tour of the State Rooms at Buckingham Palace. Only open during the summer and select dates throughout the year, I was excited to get a glimpse behind the elaborate gates to see a palace steeped in history, but is also a modern, working palace. 

With an early entry time, I decided to seek out a good breakfast beforehand to fuel up for a long day of sightseeing. The Good Life Eatery popped up on several "best-of" lists and local blogs as a top gluten-free breakfast spot, and with a location in the nearby Belgravia neighborhood, I didn't need much persuasion to start my day there.

The Good Life Eatery was built on the ethos that leading a healthier life doesn't have to mean settling for flavorless food, and they welcome everyone through their doors, regardless of dietary restriction, or special diet.With an all day menu, they've got plenty of sweet and savory options on hand for to satisfy whatever cravings you have going in.

Saturday, August 10, 2019

Gluten-Free Eats at Broadway Market (London)

In planning my second trip to London, I knew I wanted to visit in July because it meant I could experience two things I couldn't when I visited this past February: a tour of the State Rooms at Buckingham Palace and explore London's bustling street market scene. 

Whenever I plan trips to other cities, I like following gluten-free bloggers who live there to get an insider's look at the best things to do, see, and eat. One blogger who I've followed in planning both holidays this year is Laura from My Gluten Free Guide, whose website and Instagram are chock full of incredible recommendations all across the city. Through following her, I fell in love from afar with Broadway Market, which operates daily in East London with a special street market on Saturdays. 

I made sure to plan my travel dates and itinerary to leave Saturday wide open for exploration, and I couldn't have asked for a better day. With sunny skies and a sense of adventure, I was excited to see what gluten-free eats I would stumble across.