Sunday, July 7, 2019

Carrol's Creek Cafe Review

Only a 45 minute drive from DC, Annapolis may be close in proximity but is a nice getaway from the city. I've only been to Annapolis once before back in 2015, so when my dad came to visit last month, I suggested the short drive over to this bayside city for a Saturday excursion.

Of course anytime I visit another city, whether new-to-me or a familiar locale, a big part of any trip is where and what I am going to eat. In advance of our weekend trip, I knew I wanted to find a seafood restaurant, preferably one with views of the Chesapeake Bay. As if ticking off every box in my restaurant wish list, I decided on Carrol's Creek Cafe, which is located in the Annapolis City Marina. Promising fresh seafood, picturesque views, and food allergy awareness, I was very much looking forward to lunch before exploring around the rest of the city.
Sunday, June 30, 2019

Arba Review

As a gluten-free food blogger, this year has proven to be especially fruitful when it comes to extraordinary gluten-free dining experiences. From a week's worth of swoon-worthy eats in the UK, to a DC restaurant debuts that have really impressed me (I'm looking at you Momo Yakitori and Flower Child), I am extraordinary thankful to the chefs and restaurant teams that continue to raise the bar when it comes to gluten-free food.

That's why when I got word of a new dedicated gluten-free restaurant opening in Manhattan, New York City, I was elated, but also a little apprehensive. When the bar so elevated by these other restaurants, could this new one possibly compete? 

Enter Arba, which is a modern Israeli restaurant that believes in melding passion and prime ingredients to serve Mediterranean fare that anybody can enjoy. With an adventurous seven-course tasting menu that's entirely gluten-free, an evening out at Arba is not merely a dinner, it's truly a culinary passport. With the highest of expectations, I made my reservation and eagerly counted down the days until I could see for myself what Arba had to offer.
Saturday, June 29, 2019

Nationals Park Gluten-Free Options and Review (2019)

As summer revs up here in DC with heat, humidity, and wicked afternoon storms making their presence known, one of the few saving graces of this time of year is plenty of opportunities to take in a baseball game at Nationals Park, arguably one of the best ballparks to take in America's pastime. 

I'm by no means a sports person, but I do try to make it out to the park several times a year because the atmosphere is fun and family-friendly and the ballpark has nice accommodations for gluten-free folks. With gluten-free concessions on hand as well as an accommodating policy towards outside food and drink, Nats Park proves itself to not only deliver an excellent fan experience, but one that ensures gluten-free folks and others with dietary restrictions can partake in the fun as well. 
Saturday, June 8, 2019

Posh Pop Bakeshop Review

This year has been a banner one for the gluten-free dining scene in New York City, with many new dedicated gluten-free establishments opening their doors in recent months. On a whim, and inspired by the rave reviews I've heard of late, I decided to plan a last-minute trip to the city over Memorial Day weekend to indulge in my two favorite things: gluten-free food and visiting museums! 

As soon as I had train tickets in hand, I began building my itinerary, and one sure stop was Posh Pop Bakeshop, which recently relocated to Greenwich Village from Haddonfield, New Jersey. 

Stepping foot in their cozy, pretty-in-pink bakery, you are instantly inundated with the sight and smell of a dizzying array of cakes, pastries, and other baked goods. Of course I wanted one of everything in stock, but knowing I was on my way to catching my train back to Washington, I carefully considered their dairy-free offerings to make sure I had a few prime samples for my first review.
Saturday, May 18, 2019

Non-Dairy Chobani Review

If you asked me what I miss the most since going dairy-free, without a doubt I would say yogurt. No matter how many brands and new products have made their debut in the refrigerated section, I have yet to find a non-dairy yogurt that has the right consistency and is also not loaded with sugar. 

You see, yogurt was a staple of my pre-dairy-free life, and was a staple of my morning routine, whether eaten on its own or with a sprinkling of granola. Back in those days, Chobani's greek yogurts were the gold standard. Once I discovered my dairy intolerance, their yogurts neared the top of the list of products that have left a yet-to-be filled vacuum in my fridge (and heart).

That all changed when I learned that Chobani has debuted new non-dairy "yogurt" that's coconut-based in a traditional cup and travel-friendly drinkable versions. Ecstatic at the prospect that this company and food group could reenter my life, I eagerly purchased one of each of the offerings my local Giant had in store so as to set up a cautiously optimistic taste test to see if these are the real deal. 
Tuesday, April 30, 2019

Gluten-Free Tesco Sandwich Review

During my holiday abroad to London back in February, I soaked in every sight and sound of the city, as it was my first trip abroad. While the historic buildings, incredible museums, and London's general buzz were memorable, a large part of how I explored and experienced the city was through the variety of foods and dining experiences I had, spanning humble fast-casual fare to a lavish, unforgettable high tea. 

Of all the restaurants and products I tried, I have to admit that one of the MVPs of my week abroad was Tesco, the British grocery chain whose Tesco Express micro stores are ubiquitous in the city. As the penultimate post from that February trip, I wanted to dedicate this review not only to Tesco, but one particular product: their gluten-free sandwiches. If you're wondering why I would dedicate so much real estate on the blog to one product, read on and discover why this humble offering was a reliable and convenient companion for my travels. 
Saturday, April 20, 2019

Flower Child Review

One thing I love about living in Washington, DC  is that our fast casual dining scene is always expanding. With each new restaurant that comes to the city, the bar is set ever higher for  culinary creativity at an accessible price point. 

I was thrilled when I heard the health-conscious chain Flower Child would open in Foggy Bottom in February, but didn't have a chance to stop by until now, waiting for spring weather to well and truly arrive before making a trek over to the neighborhood. 

This location is part of Flower Child's expansion into the area, and coincides with the arrival of sister locations in Bethesda and Rockville. 

Sporting a menu featuring scratch-made dishes that lend themselves to be gluten, dairy, and sugar-free friendly as well as welcoming to vegetarians, vegans, and paleo foodies alike, I was impressed by their welcoming ethos and fun menu, with quirky and inspired takes on the usual lineup of bowls and salads that are the backbone of any fast casual restaurant. As my first introduction to this chain, I couldn't wait to see how this accommodating approach would translate to the real life experience. 
Saturday, April 13, 2019

Hotel Chocolat Free From Chocolate Review

While on holiday in London back in February, I couldn't help but notice Hotel Chocolat stores almost everywhere I went. This British chocolatier and cocoa grower is the only company in the UK that grows cocoa on its own plantation, and it's stores are filled with a myriad of fun and tempting treats. 

Unfortunately, most of the chocolate creations made by Hotel Chocolat have a warning that they may contain wheat so they are off limit to celiacs and gluten-free foodies. As it happened however, my visit conveniently coincided with the rollout of Hotel Chocolat's new line of free from chocolates, which promise high quality chocolates sans gluten, dairy, and nuts. Naturally, as soon as I heard, I made a point to stop by Hotel Chocolat's Euston Station shop to pick up samples to review.
Sunday, April 7, 2019

ROLLN Review

After all these years of being gluten-free, it still amazes me when I discover new restaurants where I can (safely) experience a cuisine for the first. Such is the case with ROLLN, a New York City sushi restaurant that recently made the bold and brave decision to go completely gluten-free.  

Other than a few one-off occasions of trying sushi (I'm looking at you Wegmans), I have largely avoided seeking sushi out because of lurking gluten in sauces and ingredients such as soy sauce. 

Recognizing that the central components of sushi are naturally gluten-free, ROLLN committed to sourcing higher quality (and therefore gluten-free) ingredients and making everything in-house to set themselves apart as as a sushi restaurant that not only serves safe gluten-free sushi, but serves up a product that's a higher quality because of their attention to real, fresh ingredients. 

Excited to truly try something new and impressed by ROLLN's gluten-free ethos and commitment to our community, I made sure to stop by their shop the first chance I had to visit New York City. During my latest work trip to the city, ROLLN was the first stop I made after arriving to the city, making a beeline straight to their adorable mint green shop in the flatiron district. 
Saturday, April 6, 2019

Chaia Tacos Review

Now that I've finally caught up with my London reviews (with a few more yet to come), I was excited to turn my sights back stateside and resume exploring gluten-free eats in my own backyard. 

Whenever anyone asks me about where to eat out in Washington DC, Chaia Tacos is more often than not my first recommendation. With an entirely gluten-free menu and innovative take on vegetarian tacos that is downright inspired, they have every box checked when it comes to my idea of a perfect restaurant. 

That being said, my one and only complaint over the years has been that their Georgetown location, albeit cute and homey, is just too far out of the way of my daily life to make visits to Chaia a regular habit. That all changed however when they opened up their second location in the more centrally located Chinatown. Now with Chaia just blocks from my office, I was more than ready to rekindle my love affair with them, and write an updated review, since my last review was written several years ago.