Wednesday, September 13, 2017

The Little Beet Review (Update)

For gluten-free foodies, The Little Beet is a gluten-free haven in Washington DC. This New York City export is 100% gluten-free, and promises seasonal fare, farm-to-table ingredients, and peace of mind when dining out. 

Since my first review of The Little Beet, their menu and options have changed enough to warrant an updated blog post. The menu has been reorientated around design-your-own bowls, with a rice, grains, or salad as a base. While some options have been cut in the process, there's still plenty to choose from and an endless array of combinations possible. Of course I stopped by a couple times to taste around this new menu as official "research." 
Saturday, September 2, 2017

BFree Gluten-Free Rolls Review

I love bread. 

I always have, and always will. 

As a gluten-free blogger (and bread lover), I am always in search of the latest and greatest gluten-free bread options. From breads found at my local grocery stores to ordering from bakeries across the country, I never pass up an opportunity to try a new-to-me brand.

When visiting North Carolina, a Publix trip introduced me to BFree, a wheat and gluten-free bakery that stands out in the normally gluten-filled bakery section of the store. BFree is an Irish company, and their whole line of products are allergen-free and vegan-friendly. Offering pita, rolls, bagels, loaves, and wraps, BFree's product line has a great variety of common and more uncommon gluten-free bread types.

Of many BFree items stocked, their dinner rolls jumped out to me, because good gluten-free dinner rolls are few and far between. With a white and whole grain/seeded variety, I was eager to see how BFree's rolls would measure up. 
Tuesday, August 29, 2017

Primal Food & Spirits Review

Image Source
After spending the summer in Washington D.C., I really enjoyed getting away from that town's hustle and bustle as I visited family in North Carolina to finish out my summer break from school. 

Always on the hunt for gluten-free food options, I quickly identified Primal Food and Spirits as a great lunch spot when passing through Durham on my way back to Baltimore. 

Primal Food and Spirits is a 100% gluten-free eatery that has a back-to-basics approach to dining. With unprocessed fare and homegrown ingredients, dining here promises to be worry-free, as cross contamination is a non-issue and every dish is thoughtfully crafted.
Tuesday, August 22, 2017

The Pedalin' Pig Review

Since I have family in Western North Carolina, I like to make plans to visit multiple times a year. As a city dweller, I enjoy the abundance of beautiful scenery to be had in the mountains and foothills of the Blue Ridge Mountains, and eating southern food that is hard to find in the mid-Atlantic. 

When planning a day trip to Grandfather Mountain with my aunt and uncle, a quick Find Me Gluten-Free search led me to The Pedalin' Pig, a barbecue joint in nearby Banner Elk that was very promising when it came to gluten-free options. With gluten-free buns available and plenty to choose from on the menu, I was sold; any chance I have to get authentic gluten-free barbecue I take it.
Sunday, August 20, 2017

Not Your Average Joe's Review

From one location in Dartmouth, Massachusetts to over 20 locations today, Not Your Average Joe's has made a name for itself by focusing on from-scratch cooking and unparalleled service. 

I've heard for awhile that Not Your Average Joe's had a great gluten-free menu- and even better- a can-do attitude when it comes to dietary restrictions. 

The restaurant has been on my to-try list for awhile, but their Virginia and Maryland locations were just a bit out of range for grabbing a meal after work. However, an opportunity presented itself when my aunt came to visit, and happily agreed to venture beyond the District to Not Your Average Joe's Reston location.
Thursday, August 17, 2017

Open City at the National Cathedral Review

One of my favorite places to visit in Washington D.C. is the Washington National Cathedral. The grounds around the nation's spiritual home are incredibly serene and the interior of the cathedral is magnificent featuring intricate carvings, beautiful stained glass, and an incredible history that is entwined with some of the most notable events and people of the 20th and 21st centuries.

The National Cathedral tops the list of places I take out-of-town visitors, so when my aunt visited we planned to spend a morning exploring the Cathedral with one of their amazing tours. 

After a full morning, we were ready for a bite of lunch, and decided to eat at Open City, the Cathedral's resident cafe. I had heard of Open City's gluten-free friendliness through Find Me Gluten Free and was excited that they had an outpost on the National Cathedral's campus- which eliminated the need to catch a Lyft ride to their original Woodley Park location.
Wednesday, August 16, 2017

Not Your Average Joe's Gluten-Free Menu

This post features menus for Not Your Average Joe's. To check out my full review, click here.

In following other gluten-free bloggers, I have heard incredible things about the restaurant chain Not Your Average Joe's. In a world where gluten-free dinners are lucky to get a menu with symbols indicating gluten-free fare, Not Your Average Joe's set out to change the paradigm around gluten-free eating- starting with creating a lengthy gluten-free menu with a dazzling array of options. 

From their first location in Dartmouth, Massachusetts in 1994, Not Your Average Joes has expanded to over 20 locations across the northeast and mid-Atlantic. What sets them apart from other similar restaurants is their focus on from-scratch cooking and each restaurant's in-house chef.

Because food is made-to-order gluten-free and/or allergy dining is barrier-free, and I enjoyed the feeling of normalcy in being able to choose from such a robust array of options. 
Thursday, August 10, 2017

Don Taco Review

While I have explored Washington D.C.'s many neighborhoods and eaten all over the nation's capitol, I have not spent much time in the surrounding areas- such as historic Alexandria just a Metro ride away. 

After spending a morning exploring George Washington's estate- Mount Vernon- I decided to stop by Alexandria for lunch. When exploring options for where to dine, Don Taco caught my eye because I am always in search of good tacos. With lots of gluten-free options marked on their menus, I decided to set my sights on a late lunch there.

Located on historic King Street, the dining and shopping heart of old town Alexandria, Don Taco combines traditional Mexican flavors with modern elements.
Wednesday, August 9, 2017

Food for Thought Review

When passing through Williamsburg, Virginia last month I stopped by Food for Thought after reading amazing reviews about their gluten-free menu and know-how when accommodating gluten-free diners. Usually I debate about where to stop when traveling, but to me the choice was clear. 

Located just outside the historic district, Food for Thought is a restaurant with an ethic that gluten-free diners deserve a seat at the table- and the same experience when dining out as those without food restrictions. With a focus on good food and thought provoking conversation, it's a change from many dining experiences where the focus on speed and fascination with smart phones change the dynamic.

Gluten-Free Options at the Smithsonian's National Zoo

One of my favorite places to go in Washington DC is the Smithsonian's National Zoo. Whether I go for a quick visit or spend the whole day there, I love the thrill of seeing animals from around the world up close and personal. 

The best thing about the National Zoo is that it is completely free to enter 364 days a year (they are closed on Christmas Day). Located in the Woodley Park neighborhood away from the hustle and bustle of the National Mall it's a retreat from city life and a chance to explore the beautiful grounds of the park.

Typically when I visit the National Zoo I bring a packed lunch or a few snacks because they allow visitors to bring outside food and non-alcoholic beverages into the park. This makes planning gluten and dairy-free travel a breeze, but on a recent visit I forgot my snacks at home so walked around to see what options I could find.