Sunday, August 20, 2017

Not Your Average Joe's Review

From one location in Dartmouth, Massachusetts to over 20 locations today, Not Your Average Joe's has made a name for itself by focusing on from-scratch cooking and unparalleled service. 

I've heard for awhile that Not Your Average Joe's had a great gluten-free menu- and even better- a can-do attitude when it comes to dietary restrictions. 

The restaurant has been on my to-try list for awhile, but their Virginia and Maryland locations were just a bit out of range for grabbing a meal after work. However, an opportunity presented itself when my aunt came to visit, and happily agreed to venture beyond the District to Not Your Average Joe's Reston location.
Thursday, August 17, 2017

Open City at the National Cathedral Review

One of my favorite places to visit in Washington D.C. is the Washington National Cathedral. The grounds around the nation's spiritual home are incredibly serene and the interior of the cathedral is magnificent featuring intricate carvings, beautiful stained glass, and an incredible history that is entwined with some of the most notable events and people of the 20th and 21st centuries.

The National Cathedral tops the list of places I take out-of-town visitors, so when my aunt visited we planned to spend a morning exploring the Cathedral with one of their amazing tours. 

After a full morning, we were ready for a bite of lunch, and decided to eat at Open City, the Cathedral's resident cafe. I had heard of Open City's gluten-free friendliness through Find Me Gluten Free and was excited that they had an outpost on the National Cathedral's campus- which eliminated the need to catch a Lyft ride to their original Woodley Park location.
Wednesday, August 16, 2017

Not Your Average Joe's Gluten-Free Menu

This post features menus for Not Your Average Joe's. To check out my full review, click here (link coming soon).

In following other gluten-free bloggers, I have heard incredible things about the restaurant chain Not Your Average Joe's. In a world where gluten-free dinners are lucky to get a menu with symbols indicating gluten-free fare, Not Your Average Joe's set out to change the paradigm around gluten-free eating- starting with creating a lengthy gluten-free menu with a dazzling array of options. 

From their first location in Dartmouth, Massachusetts in 1994, Not Your Average Joes has expanded to over 20 locations across the northeast and mid-Atlantic. What sets them apart from other similar restaurants is their focus on from-scratch cooking and each restaurant's in-house chef.

Because food is made-to-order gluten-free and/or allergy dining is barrier-free, and I enjoyed the feeling of normalcy in being able to choose from such a robust array of options. 
Thursday, August 10, 2017

Don Taco Review

While I have explored Washington D.C.'s many neighborhoods and eaten all over the nation's capitol, I have not spent much time in the surrounding areas- such as historic Alexandria just a Metro ride away. 

After spending a morning exploring George Washington's estate- Mount Vernon- I decided to stop by Alexandria for lunch. When exploring options for where to dine, Don Taco caught my eye because I am always in search of good tacos. With lots of gluten-free options marked on their menus, I decided to set my sights on a late lunch there.

Located on historic King Street, the dining and shopping heart of old town Alexandria, Don Taco combines traditional Mexican flavors with modern elements.
Wednesday, August 9, 2017

Food for Thought Review

When passing through Williamsburg, Virginia last month I stopped by Food for Thought after reading amazing reviews about their gluten-free menu and know-how when accommodating gluten-free diners. Usually I debate about where to stop when traveling, but to me the choice was clear. 

Located just outside the historic district, Food for Thought is a restaurant with an ethic that gluten-free diners deserve a seat at the table- and the same experience when dining out as those without food restrictions. With a focus on good food and thought provoking conversation, it's a change from many dining experiences where the focus on speed and fascination with smart phones change the dynamic.

Gluten-Free Options at the Smithsonian's National Zoo

One of my favorite places to go in Washington DC is the Smithsonian's National Zoo. Whether I go for a quick visit or spend the whole day there, I love the thrill of seeing animals from around the world up close and personal. 

The best thing about the National Zoo is that it is completely free to enter 364 days a year (they are closed on Christmas Day). Located in the Woodley Park neighborhood away from the hustle and bustle of the National Mall it's a retreat from city life and a chance to explore the beautiful grounds of the park.

Typically when I visit the National Zoo I bring a packed lunch or a few snacks because they allow visitors to bring outside food and non-alcoholic beverages into the park. This makes planning gluten and dairy-free travel a breeze, but on a recent visit I forgot my snacks at home so walked around to see what options I could find. 
Sunday, August 6, 2017

Simple Kneads Gluten-Free Bread Review

As a gluten and dairy-free blogger, one of the perks of my job is having the opportunity to sample new-to-me products and discover new companies. Recently, Simple Kneads extended an offer for me to try their gluten-free breads, and given the opportunity to taste test sourdough-type breads I couldn't say no. 

Simple Kneads was founded in one father's pursuit of delicious gluten-free bread for his son. Finding only subpar options at stores, he turned to real ingredients to see if he could make a bread that was hearty and delicious while being nutritious too. 

The resulting breads are top eight allergen-free, and arrive looking and smelling like they were baked that morning in a local bakery. I was definitely sold on the story behind the bread and couldn't wait to see how their taste and texture measured up.
Tuesday, August 1, 2017

Second Street Review

When traveling through the Virginia Peninsula last week, I knew that my mom and I would be passing through the city of Newport News around dinnertime so I did some research to see what would be out best bet for gluten-free eats. 

Second Street, an American bistro jumped out because they not only had good reviews on Find Me Gluten Free but had a separate gluten-free menu too. After a day of fighting heavy traffic, we both were looking forward to a good meal before hitting the road for the last few miles to our destination- Norfolk. 

The location I stopped by is one of two Second Street locations, the other being their original restaurant in Williamsburg just a few miles up the road. 
Sunday, July 30, 2017

Busboys and Poets Brunch Review

When people ask me for restaurant recommendations in Washington D.C., Busboys and Poets is usually my first suggestion because it has a perfect trifecta of great food, friendly staff, and an great line up of programs that inspire conversation and connection. 

Although I have frequented Busboys and Poets several times for lunch and dinner, I have yet to visit for brunch, so I was sure to put it at the top of the list of things to do when my mom came to town to visit over the weekend. From prior visits I have been impressed by Busboys and Poets' expansive gluten-free options, so I was excited to have a "normal" brunch experience despite my dietary restrictions.
Saturday, July 29, 2017

Pizzeria Paradiso Review

After a successful visit to Veloce, a fast casual pizza place in Farragut Square neighborhood (see my review), I knew a visit to Pizzeria Paradiso was in order to try out their original pizzeria concept. 

One unique thing about Pizzeria Paradiso is that they place the emphasis on perfecting their pizza crust. As a gluten-free diner, I'm used to soggy, sad, and altogether subpar crusts, so I definitely had some raised eyebrows going in about how that mission would translate to the finicky world of gluten-free crusts. 

I decided to visit their Dupont Circle location, which is located in one of my favorite neighborhoods in the District. With a lovely outdoor patio and cozy feel, I was excited to see how Pizzeria Paradiso's pizza would measure up.