Saturday, February 13, 2016

More Gluten and Dairy-Free Finds at Waverly Farmers Market

A delicious loot of cookies, cider, and fresh eggs.
Now that I am settled back in Baltimore, I have resumed one of my favorite routines- visiting the 32nd Street/Waverly Farmers Market on Saturday mornings.

Although there are bigger markets around town, I love the unique character and availability of gluten-free goodies that can be found in this neighborhood-centric market. Fruits and veggies of all types abound, local dairies bring fresh eggs, and other vendors offer baked goods. You can find my previous review of vendors at this link

On a recent visit, I noticed several new vendors, who have come to the market during their Winter session. Offering cookies, bliss balls, and cider, these treats are worth braving the cold on a Saturday morning. The market runs year-round without fail (except for last month's blizzard) and is located at the intersection of Barclay and 32nd streets. It's definitely a Baltimore attraction that's not to be missed! 

Friday, February 12, 2016

New Name, New Look, Same Gluten-Free & Dairy-Free Focus (Giveaway)

If you came here looking for gluten-free and dairy-free reviews and are wondering what website you are on right now, don't panic. 

Hello, it's me- Amanda- your gluten-free and dairy-free tour guide on Eating Out Without Gluten and Dairy. Going into my third year of blogging, the time had come for my little blog to grow up a bit, taking on a new name and new look. After all, since the beginning, I have expanded my focus from exclusively restaurant reviews to now including product reviews and coverage of events in the celiac and food allergy world. The blog had simply outgrown it's original conception and name. 

In the reimagined blog, now named Gluten & Dairy-Free Review Central, not much is changing content-wise. Reviews will still be 100% authentic and independently tested by me, because I value honesty above all else. My social media streams will continue focus on gluten and dairy-free products and advocacy, and show off how I live as a college student with food allergies. 
Monday, February 8, 2016

Slice on the Avenue Review (Towson)

When it comes to gluten-free pizza, Baltimore has some serious contenders for my heart (and wallet). The only problem is that my favorite pizzerias are located in Baltimore city, which is pretty inconvenient for me to frequently patron because I live north of the city in Towson.

Luckily, Towson has a newcomer on the block who is bringing gluten-free pizza to the area which has sorely lacked good GF options. Slice on the Avenue, earning its name from it's original location in White Marsh, recently opened up a second location on Towson's Pennsylvania Avenue, tucked off the ever-busy York Road. 

With a menu featuring a dazzling array of gluten-free and vegan options, I had high hopes that Slice on the Avenue would be the answer to my gluten-free pizza prayers. Shortly after they opened their doors, I took advantage of a sleepy Sunday morning to give them a proper taste test and formally welcome them to my neck of the woods.
Saturday, February 6, 2016

Maine Root Soda Review


When it comes to beverages, my preferred drink of choice is water. Soda just does not appeal to me, especially since most brands pump their soft drinks up with caffeine, fake sugars, and other ingredients that spell disaster for your metabolic system. However, during the "Baltimore Blizzard" at the end of January, I was snowed in for 72 hours to an off-campus hotel, where curiosity compelled me to seek out what gluten-free and dairy-free options- if any- could be found in the hotel's mini "convenience" store. 

While few items were safe for me to eat, colorful sodas from Maine Root caught my eye, both for their usage of an unrefined sweetener and their Fair Trade certification. This soda, I knew, was different in a good way, so I decided to break my multiple years-long streak of not drinking soda.

Better Bean Company Review

When it comes to getting your bang for your buck with food, it's really hard to beat beans. They're heart-healthy, low in fat, protein-packed, and help regulate blood sugar, all while being budget friendly and endlessly versatile in a variety of cuisines. 

I am already a big bean proponent, but often do not have time to prepare dried beans at school and want to avoid BPA exposure through canned foods. Luckily, the Better Bean Company is a company that is thinking outside the bean (pun intended) to serve up beans in creative and healthy ways. With a full line of products, I couldn't believe that it's taken me this long to discover their presence at my local Wegmans. 

Besides downright delicious beans, what really impressed me was the company's B Corporation status, which means that they are certified "to meet rigorous standards of social and environmental performance, accountability, and transparency." That means that these beans not only taste good, but do good for the environment and the community.
Sunday, January 31, 2016

Gluten-Free Product Round Up: January 2016


As Januarys go, 2016's was definitely an unforgettable one. I began the month in Orlando, soaking up the sun and my last taste of the city for awhile. Midway through the month, I returned North to Baltimore where I promptly met Jonas, the record breaking nor'easter that dumped 30 inches of snow in record-setting blizzard fashion. I am definitely happy to be back to my usual routine on campus, and cannot wait to see what adventures I get into during the spring semester. 
Tuesday, January 26, 2016

Tamale Co. Food Truck Review

When it comes to my favorite things in Orlando, the good folks over at the Tamale Co. Food Truck rank really high on my list. With a 100% gluten-free menu and the best tamales in all the land, there's plenty to love about Tamale Co. and their team.

I first discovered the truck at a food truck round up in June of 2014. Ever since, I have been a frequent customer whenever I make it back to Orlando, often finding them at local Farmers' Markets and food truck assemblies. After years as a loyal fan, I figured it was about time to give Tamale Co. a dedicated post all their own. 
Saturday, January 16, 2016

Cookes of Dublin Review (Downtown Disney/Disney Springs)

While I am definitely not a "Disney person" I must admit that I am a fan of Downtown Disney- ahem, Disney Springs (we are now supposed to call it). Ever since I was a kid visiting on vacation I have always loved walking around the bustling marketplace with plenty of fun shops, scenery and many culinary options. There's always something new to see, and with free parking and no admissions free it's an affordable attraction for locals and tourists alike.

In previous visits to Downtown Disney, I have enjoyed both brunch and dinner at Raglan Road, an Irish pub that has one of the most impressive gluten-free menus and well-trained staff I have encountered. 

Neighboring the restaurant is Cookes of Dublin, a quick-service location that features some of the same specialties served up at Raglan Road, made in the same kitchen. With outdoor seating Cookes of Dublin is a good choice if you want a casual, low-key, and lower priced experience, or if the main restaurant is filled to capacity. With so few "fast food" restaurants that have gluten-free and dairy-free options on hand, I loved the novel experience of getting to order safe fare quick-service style.
Thursday, January 14, 2016

Bonefish Grill Review

When I first started out on a gluten-free diet, I would have never guessed that one day I would be able to eat at chain restaurants with my new dietary restrictions. 

One by one, chain restaurants have introduced and updated their gluten-free offerings, and have proven that they can serve up gluten-free fare right alongside more gluten-laden offerings. What's really nice about chains is that they provide consistency across city and state lines, making travel easy and worry-free. In my last week in Orlando, my dad, sister and I decided to dine at Bonefish Grill to take advantage of weekday specials and check out the gluten-free menu. While I have long known that Bonefish has gluten-free offerings, it was time to see for myself what exactly they were.
Tuesday, January 12, 2016

Bonefish Grill Gluten-Free Menu

I have known for a while that Bonefish Grill is one of the chain restaurants that is fairly reliable when it comes to gluten-free offerings. With an extensive menu featuring dishes from the land and sea, Bonefish has plenty to please every member of your family and dining party. 

This post contains Bonefish Grill's current gluten-free dinner and brunch offerings, but does not list other allergens.

To read my full Bonefish Grill review, click here.