Thursday, November 23, 2017

Fruitive Review (Food)

Image credit: Fruitive
Of all the smoothie/acai bowl places I have found in Washington DC, Fruitive holds a special place in my heart because they have a 100% plant-based menu and their smoothie bowls (my review) are always swoon-worthy. 

Staying overnight in Washington DC one weekend, I woke up wanting to find some place to find "breakfast" food. Usually I opt for a piece of fruit and a protein bar as my preferred breakfast when traveling, but on that occasion I just wanted something more substantial. I decided to head out to Fruitive for an acai bowl, but realized when reading their menu that they have new gluten-free offerings- waffles, soups, and collard tacos. 
Monday, November 20, 2017

PekoPeko Ramen Review

In Baltimore's Charles Village/Homewood neighborhood near Johns Hopkins University, there have been many welcome additions on the foodie scene in the recent year: Honeygrow, Bird in Hand (coffeeshop), and now PekoPeko Ramen. As a college student who's also a foodie, I totally appreciate that these eateries serve great food, have a welcoming vibe, and are affordable for dining out when I want something that's 

On a recent blustery, chilly Sunday, I decided it was the perfect time to try PekoPeko Ramen. Lured in by the promise of noodles and rice bowls, I was eagerly anticipating my meal, which was fitting, as PekoPeko loosely translates to "let's eat." 
Sunday, November 12, 2017

Ardenne Farm Lemon Poppy Seed Muffin, Pumpkin Streusel Muffin, & Snickerdoodle Mixes Review

Ardenne Farm is one of my favorite gluten-free companies, because their fool-proof mixes always yield gloriously delicious and crowd-pleasing baked goods. Whenever I serve up sweets to my friends or family, usually the "secret recipe" is Ardenne Farm's mix. 

The company's three newest mixes are their lemon poppy seed muffins, pumpkin streusel muffins, and snickerdoodle cookies. All three are gluten-free and vegan, which makes accommodating multiple allergens less of a headache. As the temperature has been falling here in Maryland, I figured it was prime time to test out these mixes out.
Monday, October 30, 2017

The Happy Tart Brunch Review

I adore the Virginia-based bakery The Happy Tart. This 100% gluten-free patisserie is dream come true for celiacs or anyone who cannot have gluten, as each pastry is more tantalizing than the next. 

With my mom visiting for the weekend, we decided to plan on enjoying The Happy Tart's weekend brunch. Although I have popped in several times for cupcakes, cookies, and bread, I was excited to partake in their full service brunch, and have been waiting for an occasion to stop by and celebrate.

Brunch at the happy tart is a festive affair, with plenty of sweet and savory options to peak your interest. While dairy does limit some options nothing beats the peace of mind of knowing that everything is safely gluten-free.
Sunday, October 22, 2017

Frontera Frozen Taco Bowls Review

As a college student, I am ashamed to admit that I don't eat as healthily as I should. I know that I need lots of fruits, vegetables, and protein in my diet but between class, work, and other commitments, I find that I rarely have a spare hour in the kitchen to whip up a balanced meal. 

I turn more often than not to frozen, canned, or packaged meals to get me through my jam-packed schedule, so I try to find options that use real food and still taste good. On a recent grocery trip through my local Safeway, I spotted Frontera's new frozen taco bowls. The company is already one I trust from their line of delicious chips, salsas, and their gluten-free friendly restaurant in Disney Springs so I couldn't wait to see if these frozen creations could deliver the quality I have come to expect from this brand. 
Wednesday, October 18, 2017

Juice Press Review

If there's one thing the world needs more of, it's smoothie shops that use real ingredients. As a busy college student, smoothies are an essential part of my diet, as they enable me to consume much needed nutrients quickly and in a delicious fashion. 

When the New York City-based smoothie chain Juice Press announced that they were opening a store in DC's Union Station, I jumped for joy because I frequent this busy transit hub on a weekly basis as I travel back and forth between DC and Baltimore. In the past, gluten-free options have been a bit limited (RIP Shophouse), so I was eager to have Juice Press as a healthy option going forward.
Saturday, October 14, 2017

Fox Loves Taco Review

As a gluten-free eater, tacos are one of my favorite genres of food because they are so easily adapted to be gluten and dairy-free. When I heard a new all-veggie-centric taco joint was coming to Washington DC's Brookland neighborhood, I immediately bumped it to the top of my never-ending list new restaurants to try. 

Fox Loves Taco is this decidedly hip taqueria. Open from the early hours of the morning to early evening, they serve up breakfast tacos all day, and prove that tacos a perfect meal any time of day. With a menu that has something for everyone to love (even with dietary restrictions), don't be deceived by its humble location inside a bicycle shop.  
Wednesday, October 11, 2017

Pi Pizzeria Review

I don't eat as much pizza as I used to when I first started this blog. I blame some stellar gluten-free pizza experiences for this because once you've had a good gluten-free pizza, it's hard to settle for an often overpriced, cardboard-tasting pathetic pizza. 

After hearing positive reviews about Washington D.C.'s Pi Pizzeria, I decided to pay them a visit, lured by the promise of delicious pizza prepared safely. Even President Obama has sung the praises of this pizzeria!

Located in the heart of downtown D.C., Pi Pizzeria is conveniently located just a few steps from Ford's Theatre, the Smithsonian American Art Museum, and the White House- not a bad place to be when you want to stop for a slice between sightseeing. As I was soon to discover, their great location was only the start of a great experience. 
Friday, October 6, 2017

The Good Bean Favas + Peas Review

As a busy (and always hungry) college student, I am always looking for portable snacks that satisfy in the moment but also have good-for-you ingredients. On a recent pass through the gluten-free product aisle at my local Safeway, I spotted a new-to-me product: The Good Bean's Favas and Peas.

Always game to try plant-based foods that sneak protein into my diet, I bought one each of their sea salt and habanero citrus pouches to try. 

Both varieties are gluten-free, vegan, peanut-free, and contain 7 ounces of protein in every one-ounce serving- that's equivalent to the protein in one extra large egg! The name of the product couldn't be more fit, as the main ingredients are roasted fava beans and peas that have been crisped up after soaking. With a spritz of coconut oil and all natural seasonings, these definitely have a health halo with every handful.
Saturday, September 30, 2017

El Gringo Baltimore Food Truck Review

One of my favorite things about living in Orlando a few years ago was enjoying the thriving food truck culture. It was fun to follow my favorite trucks to neighborhoods all around the city and I managed to find a handful of trucks that served up reliably gluten-free fare. 

Now that I live in Baltimore, my food truck wanderings are more limited, as I have struggled to find gluten-free safe options. However, when I learned that a 100% gluten-free truck had entered the scene, I knew it would only be a matter of time before I sought it out for a review.

Enter El Gringo Baltimore, a chef-driven truck that promises to bring locally-sourced tacos and arepas to the masses. Having won acclaim as one of Baltimore's "best food trucks" by the Baltimore Sun and winner of the "best breakfast sandwich in America" by Restaurant Hospitality magazine, they've made quite an impressive early go of it.