Monday, November 12, 2018

Indikitch Review

During my visit to New York City last month, I was excited that I had a several evenings to search for new food options after the workday was over. 

One such discovery was Indikitch, a New York City-based chain that spices up the fast casual assembly line model with Indian flavors and flair. 

I am a huge fan of Indian food and have been adding more and more Indian flavors and styles of food to my home cooking, but it's still such a treat to be able to enjoy Indian food when eating out. The cuisine is naturally inclined to be gluten-free friendly, and Indikitch's menu has a lot for gluten-free foodies to love.
Sunday, November 11, 2018

Gluten-Free Options at Grom (New York City)

In reading (and bookmarking!) my friend Alexis's recap of her recent gluten-free odyssey through Rome (on her blog Alexis's Gluten Free Adventures), one eatery she mentioned popped out to me: a gelateria called Grom. I knew that name rung a bell for me, and I quickly put two and two together that I had walked right by one of Grom's New York City shops this past summer. I had no idea that the gelateria was 100% gluten-free, and knew that I had to pay them a proper visit when I was next in the area of one of their stores.

That's why when I found myself with 20 minutes of down time before catching an off-Broadway performance in the West Village, I knew I wanted to head over to Grom to investigate further. Lured by the promise of my first visit to a 100% gluten-free ice cream shop, I was thrilled that I would have an opportunity to have the "normal" experience of visiting an gelateria without fear. 
Sunday, November 4, 2018

brgr Review

As a work trip brought me to New York City for a week, I had a chance to settle in and explore around the Chelsea neighborhood that was my temporary home. With the first feeling of fall in the air, the chilly weather sparked a craving for fast food, and luckily enough, brgr was a couple blocks from where I was staying. 

While brgr might seem like a dime-a-dozen fast food restaurant from the outside, looks can be deceiving, because they hold themselves to a higher standard, crafting each burger, shake, and fry with quality ingredients to ensure they both taste great and are better for you. Of course any place with a dedicated gluten-free fryer is worth stopping my book, so I was eager to see what kind of experience brgr would serve up. 
Tuesday, October 30, 2018

TAP NYC Review

Although I love Washington DC's food scene, it cannot rival New York City's abundance of 100% gluten-free restaurants and cafes. After spending an especially blustery fall morning exploring around Central Park, I walked a few blocks over to TAP NYC, one of such magical eatery where everything is gluten-free. The restaurant serves up crepes, salads, acai bowls, and coffee drinks in cute cafe setting so it was a perfect pick for a late breakfast stop. Crepes are one of those foods that are so hard to find both gluten and dairy-free, so I was excited to have an opportunity to choose from sweet and savory options.

TAP NYC's menu is built on the endlessly versatile tapioca starch (from cassava), which is native to Brazil. Of course I am familiar with tapioca in as far as seeing it in the ingredient lists for food I have purchased, but I was interested to see it placed center stage, as it is on TAP NYC's menu. 
Monday, October 29, 2018

Friedmans Dinner Review

Knowing that a work trip would bring me to New York City for several days, I decided to make the most of the opportunity and built in time for exploring the city a day before my official duties started. 

Of course if I can make it happen, seeing a Broadway or off-Broadway show is a must do for any New York City visit, and this trip was no different. With tickets to see the limited run play American Son in hand, I went to work researching potential restaurant options in the Times Square and Theater District area. I quickly zeroed in on Friedmans at the historic Hotel Edison. Having stopped by their Chelsea Market location for lunch awhile back, I knew their gluten-free options are unsurpassed, so I needed no further persuasion to make my decision. 
Saturday, September 29, 2018

Leon Review (USA)

Eating gluten-free has definitely gotten easier over the years, especially as I live in Washington DC with lots of fast casual and full service restaurant options for gluten-free dining. If there's one category of restaurant I miss though, it's fast food. 

Yeah, it has a bad rap for not being healthy in the least (and very gluten-heavy), but sometimes you just want a quick fix and to get in and out with your food in a dash- especially when your lunch break is short!  

When I heard that the UK-based chain Leon was crossing the pond to make their American debut in DC, I was excited to welcome them to the Farragut North neighborhood. Known for serving up fast and healthy fare in over 50 locations in London, Leon promises to fill a much-needed gap in the DC food scene and serve up "gut-friendly" fare at an affordable cost. 
Saturday, September 22, 2018

Jeni's Splendid Ice Creams Review (Dairy-Free)

Just because summer is in the rear view mirror doesn't mean that your ice cream consumption has to slow down! I am firmly in the frozen-desserts-all-year camp, especially when there's an opportunity to try a new brand of dairy-free desserts.

During my brief visit to Atlanta a couple weeks ago, I stopped by the fun and funky Westside Provisions development in Midtown for dinner with a friend. Because I arrived earlier than our scheduled meeting, I walked around the stores and came across Jeni's Splendid Ice Creams, a company whose dairy-full pints I have seen at my local Whole Foods, but I have never stopped by a scoop shop. I quickly spotted dairy-free options on the menu both in sorbet and non-dairy ice cream varieties so it wasn't difficult to make an executive decision to eat dessert first for the sake of a review! 
Sunday, September 9, 2018

Fuego Mundo Review

In what feels like a blink of an eye, Summer 2018 is (mostly) in the books. I have no idea where the past few months have gone, and if you are a regular reader of this blog, you might have noticed that things have been quieter than normal. As I have settled into my routine here in Washington DC, I have found that there are often too few hours in the day to keep up with my usual rate and pace of restaurant reviews, but as the oppressive summer heat slides away I am definitely looking forward to more conducive weather for scoping out gluten-free eats at home and across the country. 

Recently, I had a chance to fly to Atlanta, Georgia for a brief visit, which proved to be a fun opportunity to get out of my DC bubble and do some gluten-free reporting from the road. After catching an early flight to the city, I turned to Find Me Gluten-Free to source a suitable lunch spot. Rave reviews and a close proximity to a meetup spot with a friend later in the afternoon led me to select Fuego Mundo as an ideal lunch spot. Fuego Mundo is a Latin-American eatery that is built on the fundamental belief that special diets should not be an obstacle to enjoying good food, and I was impressed by their transparency and accommodating attitude towards dietary restrictions.
Sunday, July 22, 2018

Taco Dumbo Review

My recent travels by rail to New York City have led me to discover the The Pennsy, a food hall just above Penn Station that has quickly become a go-to as I am arriving to the city and my final stop before I leave. On a recent visit, Taco Dumbo caught my eye, with a menu full of gluten-free options. With my curiosity peaked, I made sure the this stand would be my first stop on my next visit. 

If you have followed my blog for any length of time, you might have caught on that tacos hold a particular place in my heart- I can never get enough of them! Taco Dumbo's approach is inspired by the foodie ethos of California, the ingredients are real and locally sourced and the vibe is laid back- a refreshing break from the relentless pace of the city.
Sunday, July 15, 2018

Noglu Review

Even after years of maintaining a strict gluten-free diet, I must admit that walking past gluten-full bakeries, bread vendors at my local farmer's market, and even the bakery section of the grocery store still feels like ripping a band aid off. I absolutely adore baked goods- both sweet and savory- and there certainly are not enough gluten-free bakeries in that would achieve parity with the number of gluten-full purveyors out there.

New York City is the rare place where there are multiple gluten-free bakeries- and one by one I am definitely on a mission to visit as many as I can. On my most recent visit, I made sure that I built my itinerary around a visit to Noglu, a 100% gluten-free bakery, cafe, and micro grocery store that has charming French flair. Not only are they a gluten-free oasis, but Noglu also sources organic and locally-produced ingredients to craft their each item on their menu.