Sunday, June 27, 2021

Bread SRSLY Review

Baking sourdough bread has enjoyed quite the renaissance over the past year, with the practice providing a soothing and delicious antedote to the stressors of 2020 (and beyond). Baking doesn't really calm me down (I absolutely hate doing the dishes afterward!) so to get my sourdough fix, there's one bakery I always turn to: Bread SRSLY

This woman-owned San Francisco-based bakery is seriously amazing, and their gluten-free, vegan sourdough breads are totally the real deal. 

I first reviewed Bread SRSLY several years ago, so it's long overdue for an updated post, especially with new varieties of their signature sourdough available. 

Beyond the Bread itself, one thing I love is that the breads are endlessly versatile and Bread SRSLY has a handy repository of recipes on their website to aid with culinary creativity. I'll showcase one such recipe in this post!

Monday, May 31, 2021

RASA Review

With covid vaccines proceeding at pace and restrictions in DC starting to loosen, I have been enjoying venturing out to get a much-needed break from my apartment (and home cooking!). With all the time at home, I have formed quite a to-do list of restaurants I want to try, and near the top of that list was RASA, a fast-casual Indian restaurant with two locations in DC. 

Just looking at the menu online is enough to make your mouth water, knowing that the vast majority of the delicious-looking fare is gluten-free and vegan friendly.

Saturday, May 22, 2021

PLNT Burger Review

Both for health reasons and environmental ones, I'm interested in incorporating more plant-based fare into my gluten-free diet. Of course fresh fruit and veggies are very important, but I'm also definitely not opposed to plant-based food that's a little more in the mold of conventional fast food fare. Plant-based and crave-busting food? I'm definitely more than intrigued.

A fast food concept fitting that mold has recently set up shop at a few local Whole Foods Market locations in DC, Maryland, Virginia, and Pennsylvania. With an 100% vegan menu that's super gluten-free friendly, I placed PLNT burger at the top of my post-lockdown emergence list because I figured it'd be an excellent option to satisfy my pent-up fried food cravings-- something I can't quite quash with home cooking.

Sunday, March 28, 2021

PastryBase Gluten-Free Unicorn Cupcake Baking Kit

Since my birthday is this month, it's been a weird experience to have a normally celebratory time of the year for me coincide with the start of the pandemic (last year) and the one-year milestone observations (this year). Though I'm not a huge birthday person, it has felt really strange to celebrate on my own for two years in a row now, forgoing my preferred method of celebrating: sharing a meal with friends and enjoying some delicious gluten and dairy-free sweets.

Feeling uninspired and riding another wave of quarantine burnout, I was totally going to forgo any celebration this year until my mom surprised me with a intriguing cupcake kit from PastryBase. Cutely packaged and promising cupcakes that tasted as good as they looked (while being gluten-free and vegan!), the kit proved to be the perfect pick-me-up, and fantastic real world application of the Great British Bake Off skills I hope I've learned in binging all the seasons this past year.

Monday, October 12, 2020

Soupergirl Review

The covid-19 pandemic has, and continues to, disrupt every aspect of daily life. Though I really miss seeing my colleagues and friends in person and the other perks of living in Washington, DC (museums, performing arts, public transport), I've sort of settled into a "new abnormal" routine. 

Despite the difficult reason it has to be this way, a small silver lining of social distancing is that with a slower pace of life, I have had a renewed focus on what I'm cooking and eating, and where I'm sourcing it from. The highlight of my week every week is the Saturday farmers market in my neighborhood, and I've found that small businesses and restaurants have responded to the crisis nimbly and have gone over and above to feed the gluten-free community.

Though I have had fun experimenting in the kitchen and trying out new recipes, I hit a wall a few weeks ago and simply lost any motivation to meal plan, cook, or wash dishes. Enter a literal super hero to save the day (well, at least mealtime anyway): Soupergirl. This woman-owned business serves up seasonally-inspired soups (and more) sourced from local farms and purveyors in a battle against the industrial food movement. Already a fan of their soups (which can be found locally across the DMV region), I realized it was more than overdue to dedicate a blogpost to this super awesome company. 

The Federalist Pig Review

In what seems like a never-ending stretch of social distancing, I have diligent about sticking close to home over the past six months, venturing out only on rare occasions. While I have enjoyed trading in my evening commute to be more creative in the kitchen, I've missed the simple luxury of going out to eat and the only potential danger was potential gluten and/or dairy cross contact. 

Luckily, a recent visit from my mom and aunt allowed a rare opportunity to explore beyond my neighborhood, and finally stop by a restaurant that has been on the top of my to-try list for ages now: The Federalist Pig. It's reputation totally preceded it, and it has earned high regard for serving up top-notch fare and relaxed, casual atmosphere. Not only that, but with a clear allergy guide and lots of gluten-free options, I was pretty excited to finally be able to pay The Federalist Pig a visit and see if it lived up to the hype.

Sunday, September 13, 2020

Seoul Spice Review

In light of the ongoing devastation of the coronavirus epidemic, it's more important than ever to support restaurants and companies that cater to gluten-free diners. Covid-19 considerations or not, being a gluten-free diner can be challenging, so any eatery or product that makes life more navigable to those of us with dietary restrictions are the MVPs of every community. 

One stalwart in my community of Washington, DC is Seoul Spice, the 100% gluten-free fast casual restaurant serving up Korean comfort food with style. I realized it's been ages since my I first posted about them (back in 2016!) and they are more than overdue for an updated review. With one of their restaurants conveniently located near me in Northeast DC in the NoMa neighborhood, I made a day of stopping by for some takeout to take advantage of the nearby Metropolitan Branch trail. Good food, fresh air, and a day below 90 degrees on a summer day: the perfect trio for an enjoyable (and socially distanced) day. 

Saturday, June 13, 2020

MYBREAD Gluten-Free Breads & Pizza Crust Review

From the earliest days of my blog, literally in its first year, I have been a huge fan of MYBREAD and their line of gluten-free pitas. They've managed what I once thought was impossible when I first went gluten-free: a soft, yet sturdy, pita bread that doesn't compromise on form or flavor despite being flour-free.

Recently, MYBREAD expanded their product line beyond their pitas to branch out from their flagship pitas. When they reached out to share all about these new offerings and generously share samples, I jumped at the chance to give these breads and pizza crust a test drive.

What's great about MYBREAD is not only are their products gluten-free, they are free from dairy, eggs, nuts, and soy. Plus they're also vegan! 

This attention to allergies and ingredients means MYBREAD products can safely fill a bread basket or be the foundation of pizza night to bring people together despite managing multiple dietary restrictions. 

Saturday, June 6, 2020

Gluten-Free Friendly Black-Owned Businesses in the DC Area

At a national, regional, and local level, the last two weeks have unleashed a swirling storm of emotions: outrage, exhaustion, heartbreak, but also renewed hope the "more perfect union" generations of Americans have dreamed of can be realized.

That can't happen however, without the clear and unequivocal acknowledgement that Black Lives Matter. 

By typing, saying, or shouting those words in protest, millions across the country are uniting to reject the national paradigm that has for too long subjugated people of color through systemic economic, educational, and institutional inequity and racism. 

We have to do better. We must do better. Each and every one of us has a part to play in promoting equality in the communities we live in.

One such way is to support local Black-owned businesses, which not only have been impacted by inequality, but the negative impacts of covid19-related closures. Inspired by similar lists and articles, I've compiled a list of gluten-free friendly Black-owned restaurants and food businesses in the DC area. 

Saturday, May 30, 2020

Vegan My/Mo Mochi Review (Dairy-Free)

Though it still doesn't quite feel like it yet, Summer is definitely upon us, and with it comes my renewed search for the latest and greatest in gluten and dairy-free frozen dessert options.

The latest such products to catch my eye are the vegan mochi offerings from My/Mo. While I've seen My/Mo in most every grocery store I've been in, their dairy-full version of this bit-sized treat are usually what's stocked. After seeing others rave about these desserts, I was so excited to finally find the dairy-free version to try.

Now what exactly is mochi? It's a sweet rice cake from Japan that makes for a portable, yet substantial meal. My/Mo puts a decidedly sweet twist on the substance, by wrapping cashew-based ice cream with an outer coating of sweet rice dough.