Sunday, July 15, 2018

Noglu Review

Even after years of maintaining a strict gluten-free diet, I must admit that walking past gluten-full bakeries, bread vendors at my local farmer's market, and even the bakery section of the grocery store still feels like ripping a band aid off. I absolutely adore baked goods- both sweet and savory- and there certainly are not enough gluten-free bakeries in that would achieve parity with the number of gluten-full purveyors out there.

New York City is the rare place where there are multiple gluten-free bakeries- and one by one I am definitely on a mission to visit as many as I can. On my most recent visit, I made sure that I built my itinerary around a visit to Noglu, a 100% gluten-free bakery, cafe, and micro grocery store that has charming French flair. Not only are they a gluten-free oasis, but Noglu also sources organic and locally-produced ingredients to craft their each item on their menu.
Saturday, July 7, 2018

Wild Review

After spending most of my afternoon in the Greenwich Village neighborhood, I turned to the Find Me Gluten Free app to determine where I wanted to stop for dinner before catching an evening show closer to Times Square. 

After looking at the options nearby, I decided to dine at Wild in the nearby West Village neighborhood because it had a decidedly different ethos. Believing in serving fare made with real ingredients in a way that is socially responsible and good for the environment too. 

Wild is a dedicated gluten-free restaurant, which to me meant that I could dine worry-free. Not only that, but they feature many normally off-limit options such as pizza, pasta, and even chicken parmesan (not dairy-free). With the heat of the day waning, I was excited to sit out on their open patio and dine al fresco on a sleepy Saturday. 

By CHLOE Review

New York City is a magical wonderland for foodies- especially those with dietary restrictions. With a rich abundance of accommodating restaurants, bakeries, and cafes, I don't think I will ever run out of new options to try whenever I visit. 

On my visit to the city last weekend, I found myself wandering through the Greenwich Village neighborhood with a little time to spare before catching a performance at the Minetta Lane Theatre. I stumbled across By CHLOE, a 100% vegan cafe serving up a full menu of sweet and savory options. Just as the city's heatwave was beginning to get to me- I knew this would be a good stop to investigate their gluten-free options.
Saturday, June 23, 2018

Gorsha Ethiopian Eatery Review

When people ask me for recommendations about what to do or see in Washington DC, I cannot recommend Union Market enough. This foodie wonderland is a feast for the senses, with cuisines from around the world represented by the many micro-eateries and there are always pop up shops and art that make each visit memorable.

On a recent visit, I decided to stop by Gorsha, an Ethiopian eatery that I have walked by, but not stopped to see if they had gluten-free options. As I soon discovered, this was a serious error on my part, as Gorsha has a lot to offer for gluten and dairy-free foodies. As my first foray into Ethiopian cuisine, I was excited that this would be a new- and safe- experience. 
Saturday, June 9, 2018

Taqueria Local Review

While I started this blog as a quest to find and report the best gluten-free eats wherever I live or travel, it's really a documentation of my endless love affair with tacos. It's hard for me to ever turn a taco down, and I love that they are naturally gluten-free. Over the years I have found some pretty showstopping tacos, but that never deters me from the quest to keep seeking out new (and new-to-me) options near and far.

While walking through DC's Farragut Square recently, the bright facade of Taqueria Local caught my eye, and after some quick research, I decided to give them a try. A relative newcomer to the neighborhood, Taqueria Local promises to deliver authentic and fun tacos in a casual setting that promotes food and the community. That promise is more than just words too: by sourcing local food, paying the staff above minimum wage, and giving back through donations of food and a portion of their profit, they are the real deal- which definitely impressed me long before I had a bite of food.
Monday, June 4, 2018

Häagen-Dazs Non-Dairy Desserts Review

Summer is in full swing here in DC, and I am more than ready to trade in heavy coats and hot tea for sunglasses and dairy-free ice "cream" since winter weather lingered longer than usual this year. With the changing of the seasons, it's always exciting to see new arrivals in the freezer aisle of my favorite stores. 

When buying dairy-free ice "cream," I tend to stick to companies who cater exclusively to dairy-free consumers, but recently, I've notice more and more "mainstream" companies are venturing into the vegan and non-dairy game. One such company is Häagen-Dazs, an iconic ice cream maker who has introduced a new line of dairy-free delights. Of course I couldn't pass up an opportunity to try them when I spotted them stocked at my local Giant, and was excited to see how they measure up against an increasingly competitive field of gluten-free and dairy-free options.
Thursday, May 31, 2018

Tamale Co. 2-Go Mexican Street Food Review

Anyone who has followed this blog from its earliest days knows that I am a super fan of the Orlando-based food truck Tamale Co. This 100% gluten-free food truck introduced me to the magic of tamales, and is a staple of any trip back to Orlando now that I live in Washington DC. Since my last visit, they have announced an expansion to not only one, but two brick and mortar locations: a grab-and-go shop in Altamonte Springs and a soon-to-open location in Orlando's Hourglass District. 

With the former now open, I requested that it was my family's first stop after picking me up from the airport. While I enter most reviews questioning what my experience might be like, I entered this experience with the opposite problem- I wondered if my expectations were too high. Could Tamale Co. 2-Go live up to my sky-high expectations? 
Monday, May 28, 2018

Brio Tuscan Grille Review

Flying back to Orlando briefly for my sister's graduation, I was looking forward to celebrating after the ceremony at Brio Tuscan Grill. Although I have reviewed many gluten-free friendly Italian restaurants in my years as a food blogger, I have not yet had a chance to dine at this chain. 

In taking a preliminary glance of Brio's gluten-free menu, I was excited to see several entree options (including gluten-free pasta). As much as I enjoy making pasta at home, I also enjoy the simple luxury of ordering at a restaurant, so I was eager to see how Brio's ranked.
Saturday, May 12, 2018

Butterfly Review (ThinkFoodLab)

When people ask me for recommendations for gluten-free friendly eateries in Washington, DC my advice is simple: you can't go wrong with a José Andrés restaurant! As a city, we are lucky to be home to several of his inspired culinary concepts, including China Chilcano, Jaleo, Beefsteak, and Oyamel (can you tell I'm a fan?!), which present globally-inspired flavors in a fun and whimsical way. 

His latest concept- Butterfly- is taking a test drive at the Navy Memorial-adjacent Think Food Lab. Part popup, part test kitchen, Think Food Lab allows the chef to experiment with flavors and foods while serving up fast-casual fare. Serving up tacos, tortas (sandwiches), and salads, I'd say that Butterfly definitely has a bit of Oyamel in it's DNA. I couldn't wait to check out this welcome addition to the José Andrés restaurant family on my lunch break.
Sunday, April 29, 2018

Sweet Loren's Gluten-Free Chocolate Chunk Cookies Review

When it comes to gluten-free baking, I rely on boxed mixes to do the heavy lifting for me. Playing the game of having to mix seven different types of flours that many from-scratch recipes call for just isn't my cup of tea. With box mixes all I have to worry about is milk, eggs, oil, and maybe one or two other mix-ins. 

However there are times when even box mixes seem too involved when I want a quick fresh-from-the-oven cookie fix. Luckily, Sweet Loren's place and bake cookie dough can be ready and waiting in your fridge whenever a craving strikes. Magically able to transform from a refrigerated dough to delightfully fresh-baked cookies in under 30 minutes, Sweet Loren's wins points not only for eliminating complicated cookie prep, but also virtually eliminating most most the mess involved with baking.

Formulated to be gluten-free, nut-free, dairy-free and vegan, I wondered if Sweet Loren's gluten-free chocolate chunk cookie dough was too good to be true when I first spotted it at my local Giant. The dough only lasted a few hours in my fridge before I couldn't resist putting it to the test.