Sunday, September 9, 2018

Fuego Mundo Review

In what feels like a blink of an eye, Summer 2018 is (mostly) in the books. I have no idea where the past few months have gone, and if you are a regular reader of this blog, you might have noticed that things have been quieter than normal. As I have settled into my routine here in Washington DC, I have found that there are often too few hours in the day to keep up with my usual rate and pace of restaurant reviews, but as the oppressive summer heat slides away I am definitely looking forward to more conducive weather for scoping out gluten-free eats at home and across the country. 

Recently, I had a chance to fly to Atlanta, Georgia for a brief visit, which proved to be a fun opportunity to get out of my DC bubble and do some gluten-free reporting from the road. After catching an early flight to the city, I turned to Find Me Gluten-Free to source a suitable lunch spot. Rave reviews and a close proximity to a meetup spot with a friend later in the afternoon led me to select Fuego Mundo as an ideal lunch spot. Fuego Mundo is a Latin-American eatery that is built on the fundamental belief that special diets should not be an obstacle to enjoying good food, and I was impressed by their transparency and accommodating attitude towards dietary restrictions.
Sunday, July 22, 2018

Taco Dumbo Review

My recent travels by rail to New York City have led me to discover the The Pennsy, a food hall just above Penn Station that has quickly become a go-to as I am arriving to the city and my final stop before I leave. On a recent visit, Taco Dumbo caught my eye, with a menu full of gluten-free options. With my curiosity peaked, I made sure the this stand would be my first stop on my next visit. 

If you have followed my blog for any length of time, you might have caught on that tacos hold a particular place in my heart- I can never get enough of them! Taco Dumbo's approach is inspired by the foodie ethos of California, the ingredients are real and locally sourced and the vibe is laid back- a refreshing break from the relentless pace of the city.
Sunday, July 15, 2018

Noglu Review

Even after years of maintaining a strict gluten-free diet, I must admit that walking past gluten-full bakeries, bread vendors at my local farmer's market, and even the bakery section of the grocery store still feels like ripping a band aid off. I absolutely adore baked goods- both sweet and savory- and there certainly are not enough gluten-free bakeries in that would achieve parity with the number of gluten-full purveyors out there.

New York City is the rare place where there are multiple gluten-free bakeries- and one by one I am definitely on a mission to visit as many as I can. On my most recent visit, I made sure that I built my itinerary around a visit to Noglu, a 100% gluten-free bakery, cafe, and micro grocery store that has charming French flair. Not only are they a gluten-free oasis, but Noglu also sources organic and locally-produced ingredients to craft their each item on their menu.
Saturday, July 7, 2018

Wild Review

After spending most of my afternoon in the Greenwich Village neighborhood, I turned to the Find Me Gluten Free app to determine where I wanted to stop for dinner before catching an evening show closer to Times Square. 

After looking at the options nearby, I decided to dine at Wild in the nearby West Village neighborhood because it had a decidedly different ethos. Believing in serving fare made with real ingredients in a way that is socially responsible and good for the environment too. 

Wild is a dedicated gluten-free restaurant, which to me meant that I could dine worry-free. Not only that, but they feature many normally off-limit options such as pizza, pasta, and even chicken parmesan (not dairy-free). With the heat of the day waning, I was excited to sit out on their open patio and dine al fresco on a sleepy Saturday. 

By CHLOE Review

New York City is a magical wonderland for foodies- especially those with dietary restrictions. With a rich abundance of accommodating restaurants, bakeries, and cafes, I don't think I will ever run out of new options to try whenever I visit. 

On my visit to the city last weekend, I found myself wandering through the Greenwich Village neighborhood with a little time to spare before catching a performance at the Minetta Lane Theatre. I stumbled across By CHLOE, a 100% vegan cafe serving up a full menu of sweet and savory options. Just as the city's heatwave was beginning to get to me- I knew this would be a good stop to investigate their gluten-free options.
Saturday, June 23, 2018

Gorsha Ethiopian Eatery Review

When people ask me for recommendations about what to do or see in Washington DC, I cannot recommend Union Market enough. This foodie wonderland is a feast for the senses, with cuisines from around the world represented by the many micro-eateries and there are always pop up shops and art that make each visit memorable.

On a recent visit, I decided to stop by Gorsha, an Ethiopian eatery that I have walked by, but not stopped to see if they had gluten-free options. As I soon discovered, this was a serious error on my part, as Gorsha has a lot to offer for gluten and dairy-free foodies. As my first foray into Ethiopian cuisine, I was excited that this would be a new- and safe- experience. 
Saturday, June 9, 2018

Taqueria Local Review

While I started this blog as a quest to find and report the best gluten-free eats wherever I live or travel, it's really a documentation of my endless love affair with tacos. It's hard for me to ever turn a taco down, and I love that they are naturally gluten-free. Over the years I have found some pretty showstopping tacos, but that never deters me from the quest to keep seeking out new (and new-to-me) options near and far.

While walking through DC's Farragut Square recently, the bright facade of Taqueria Local caught my eye, and after some quick research, I decided to give them a try. A relative newcomer to the neighborhood, Taqueria Local promises to deliver authentic and fun tacos in a casual setting that promotes food and the community. That promise is more than just words too: by sourcing local food, paying the staff above minimum wage, and giving back through donations of food and a portion of their profit, they are the real deal- which definitely impressed me long before I had a bite of food.
Monday, June 4, 2018

Häagen-Dazs Non-Dairy Desserts Review

Summer is in full swing here in DC, and I am more than ready to trade in heavy coats and hot tea for sunglasses and dairy-free ice "cream" since winter weather lingered longer than usual this year. With the changing of the seasons, it's always exciting to see new arrivals in the freezer aisle of my favorite stores. 

When buying dairy-free ice "cream," I tend to stick to companies who cater exclusively to dairy-free consumers, but recently, I've notice more and more "mainstream" companies are venturing into the vegan and non-dairy game. One such company is Häagen-Dazs, an iconic ice cream maker who has introduced a new line of dairy-free delights. Of course I couldn't pass up an opportunity to try them when I spotted them stocked at my local Giant, and was excited to see how they measure up against an increasingly competitive field of gluten-free and dairy-free options.
Thursday, May 31, 2018

Tamale Co. 2-Go Mexican Street Food Review

Anyone who has followed this blog from its earliest days knows that I am a super fan of the Orlando-based food truck Tamale Co. This 100% gluten-free food truck introduced me to the magic of tamales, and is a staple of any trip back to Orlando now that I live in Washington DC. Since my last visit, they have announced an expansion to not only one, but two brick and mortar locations: a grab-and-go shop in Altamonte Springs and a soon-to-open location in Orlando's Hourglass District. 

With the former now open, I requested that it was my family's first stop after picking me up from the airport. While I enter most reviews questioning what my experience might be like, I entered this experience with the opposite problem- I wondered if my expectations were too high. Could Tamale Co. 2-Go live up to my sky-high expectations? 
Monday, May 28, 2018

Brio Tuscan Grille Review

Flying back to Orlando briefly for my sister's graduation, I was looking forward to celebrating after the ceremony at Brio Tuscan Grill. Although I have reviewed many gluten-free friendly Italian restaurants in my years as a food blogger, I have not yet had a chance to dine at this chain. 

In taking a preliminary glance of Brio's gluten-free menu, I was excited to see several entree options (including gluten-free pasta). As much as I enjoy making pasta at home, I also enjoy the simple luxury of ordering at a restaurant, so I was eager to see how Brio's ranked.