Wednesday, October 18, 2017

Juice Press Review

If there's one thing the world needs more of, it's smoothie shops that use real ingredients. As a busy college student, smoothies are an essential part of my diet, as they enable me to consume much needed nutrients quickly and in a delicious fashion. 

When the New York City-based smoothie chain Juice Press announced that they were opening a store in DC's Union Station, I jumped for joy because I frequent this busy transit hub on a weekly basis as I travel back and forth between DC and Baltimore. In the past, gluten-free options have been a bit limited (RIP Shophouse), so I was eager to have Juice Press as a healthy option going forward.
Saturday, October 14, 2017

Fox Loves Taco Review

As a gluten-free eater, tacos are one of my favorite genres of food because they are so easily adapted to be gluten and dairy-free. When I heard a new all-veggie-centric taco joint was coming to Washington DC's Brookland neighborhood, I immediately bumped it to the top of my never-ending list new restaurants to try. 

Fox Loves Taco is this decidedly hip taqueria. Open from the early hours of the morning to early evening, they serve up breakfast tacos all day, and prove that tacos a perfect meal any time of day. With a menu that has something for everyone to love (even with dietary restrictions), don't be deceived by its humble location inside a bicycle shop.  
Wednesday, October 11, 2017

Pi Pizzeria Review

I don't eat as much pizza as I used to when I first started this blog. I blame some stellar gluten-free pizza experiences for this because once you've had a good gluten-free pizza, it's hard to settle for an often overpriced, cardboard-tasting pathetic pizza. 

After hearing positive reviews about Washington D.C.'s Pi Pizzeria, I decided to pay them a visit, lured by the promise of delicious pizza prepared safely. Even President Obama has sung the praises of this pizzeria!

Located in the heart of downtown D.C., Pi Pizzeria is conveniently located just a few steps from Ford's Theatre, the Smithsonian American Art Museum, and the White House- not a bad place to be when you want to stop for a slice between sightseeing. As I was soon to discover, their great location was only the start of a great experience. 
Friday, October 6, 2017

The Good Bean Favas + Peas Review

As a busy (and always hungry) college student, I am always looking for portable snacks that satisfy in the moment but also have good-for-you ingredients. On a recent pass through the gluten-free product aisle at my local Safeway, I spotted a new-to-me product: The Good Bean's Favas and Peas.

Always game to try plant-based foods that sneak protein into my diet, I bought one each of their sea salt and habanero citrus pouches to try. 

Both varieties are gluten-free, vegan, peanut-free, and contain 7 ounces of protein in every one-ounce serving- that's equivalent to the protein in one extra large egg! The name of the product couldn't be more fit, as the main ingredients are roasted fava beans and peas that have been crisped up after soaking. With a spritz of coconut oil and all natural seasonings, these definitely have a health halo with every handful.
Saturday, September 30, 2017

El Gringo Baltimore Food Truck Review

One of my favorite things about living in Orlando a few years ago was enjoying the thriving food truck culture. It was fun to follow my favorite trucks to neighborhoods all around the city and I managed to find a handful of trucks that served up reliably gluten-free fare. 

Now that I live in Baltimore, my food truck wanderings are more limited, as I have struggled to find gluten-free safe options. However, when I learned that a 100% gluten-free truck had entered the scene, I knew it would only be a matter of time before I sought it out for a review.

Enter El Gringo Baltimore, a chef-driven truck that promises to bring locally-sourced tacos and arepas to the masses. Having won acclaim as one of Baltimore's "best food trucks" by the Baltimore Sun and winner of the "best breakfast sandwich in America" by Restaurant Hospitality magazine, they've made quite an impressive early go of it. 
Monday, September 25, 2017

Qdoba Review

When it comes to "fast food" Mexican restaurants, I have always held the less-than-popular opinion that Qdoba is the best of the chain restaurants out there. With flavorful food and lots of gluten-free and dairy-free options to choose from, I've never had a bad meal from Qdoba... plus their guacamole never incurs an extra charge! 

Since Qdoba is not 100% gluten-free, knowing how to navigate the menu is important, as there are gluten-filled items on the menu. As with any fast food restaurant, visiting on off hours or when the restaurant first opens can make explaining food restrictions and navigating the assembly-line style of the restaurant easier and safer. 


With locations around the country, Qdoba can be a familiar and reliable restaurant when traveling or when you're in a rush. 

Wednesday, September 13, 2017

The Little Beet Review (Update)

For gluten-free foodies, The Little Beet is a gluten-free haven in Washington DC. This New York City export is 100% gluten-free, and promises seasonal fare, farm-to-table ingredients, and peace of mind when dining out. 

Since my first review of The Little Beet, their menu and options have changed enough to warrant an updated blog post. The menu has been reorientated around design-your-own bowls, with a rice, grains, or salad as a base. While some options have been cut in the process, there's still plenty to choose from and an endless array of combinations possible. Of course I stopped by a couple times to taste around this new menu as official "research." 
Saturday, September 2, 2017

BFree Gluten-Free Rolls Review

I love bread. 

I always have, and always will. 

As a gluten-free blogger (and bread lover), I am always in search of the latest and greatest gluten-free bread options. From breads found at my local grocery stores to ordering from bakeries across the country, I never pass up an opportunity to try a new-to-me brand.

When visiting North Carolina, a Publix trip introduced me to BFree, a wheat and gluten-free bakery that stands out in the normally gluten-filled bakery section of the store. BFree is an Irish company, and their whole line of products are allergen-free and vegan-friendly. Offering pita, rolls, bagels, loaves, and wraps, BFree's product line has a great variety of common and more uncommon gluten-free bread types.

Of many BFree items stocked, their dinner rolls jumped out to me, because good gluten-free dinner rolls are few and far between. With a white and whole grain/seeded variety, I was eager to see how BFree's rolls would measure up. 
Tuesday, August 29, 2017

Primal Food & Spirits Review

Image Source
After spending the summer in Washington D.C., I really enjoyed getting away from that town's hustle and bustle as I visited family in North Carolina to finish out my summer break from school. 

Always on the hunt for gluten-free food options, I quickly identified Primal Food and Spirits as a great lunch spot when passing through Durham on my way back to Baltimore. 

Primal Food and Spirits is a 100% gluten-free eatery that has a back-to-basics approach to dining. With unprocessed fare and homegrown ingredients, dining here promises to be worry-free, as cross contamination is a non-issue and every dish is thoughtfully crafted.
Tuesday, August 22, 2017

The Pedalin' Pig Review

Since I have family in Western North Carolina, I like to make plans to visit multiple times a year. As a city dweller, I enjoy the abundance of beautiful scenery to be had in the mountains and foothills of the Blue Ridge Mountains, and eating southern food that is hard to find in the mid-Atlantic. 

When planning a day trip to Grandfather Mountain with my aunt and uncle, a quick Find Me Gluten-Free search led me to The Pedalin' Pig, a barbecue joint in nearby Banner Elk that was very promising when it came to gluten-free options. With gluten-free buns available and plenty to choose from on the menu, I was sold; any chance I have to get authentic gluten-free barbecue I take it.